We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff treats you like family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Marriott Suites

Save Saved
You added Bethesda Marriott Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bethesda Marriott Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6711 Democracy Blvd., Bethesda, MD 20817   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast + Free WiFi
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Bethesda
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Staff treats you like family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I often stay in the Bethesda area and return to this property time and time again because the hotel staff treats you like they are welcoming you into their home. They know my preference for rooms, points (I am a platinum) and have never let me down.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hi Mark W. - Thank you for the great review. We are extremely proud of our staff, they take great pride in providing personalized service. Thanks for your continued business, it is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    95
    30
    14
    4
See reviews for
60
34
13
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Food, service and atmosphere were very nice. The hotel was very pleasant to work with and happily accommodated a late check our for our family which was greatly appreciated. The two issues with our stay was the bed and the ambulance station across the street. The bed was extremely hard/firm even after asking housekeeping to add additional padding. The windows or insulation should be replaced with something that will help alleviate the sirens that you hear when the fire truck/ambulance leaves at 2am.

Room Tip: Stay on the opposite side of the hotel from the ambulance/fire station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hello CNSSC - Thank you for your positive comments on the hotels food, service and atmosphere. I am glad we were able to accommodate your late check out request. My apologies for the siren noise and I am sorry you found our bed to be extremely hard/firm. Thank you for posting and being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halls Head Western Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here during the uspga tournament at Congressional golf course.
The room was typical Marriott suite. Well appointed, well maintained,perfectly clean and with every attention to detail.
The reception staff were so professional and attended to all requests with prompt courteous action.The bar staff, restaurant staff could not have been more helpful.
BUT the food was very poor.No worse than very poor.We were there during and after the huge storm that cut power for 4-5 days and were forced to eat at the hotel. Dear, Dear
This is an upper management problem. Get into the real world with fresh tasty food and out of the 70s,80s fried over sauced glug. Marriott I like you very much but wake up..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear b00ntie,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments from your stay in July of 2012. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with our guest suites and that the staff provided you with professional and courteous service. We recall the storm you are referring to and it was certainly a difficult time throughout our local community due to the widespread power outages.

We also appreciate your feedback concerning the menu at the hotel during that time and apologize that it did not meet your expectations. We have actually made some recent changes to our menu over the past several months and welcome an opportunity to host you for a return visit as we believe you will have a much better dining experience than you had with us last year. If you would like to discuss your experience further I may be reached at Marty.Roth@marriott.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

You may well be up here, as I was, at the behest of one of the behemoth organizations in the nearby corporate parks. In my case this was NIH. The rooms are very nice and service is good. There is a combo indoor-outdoor pool which is a nice amenity. The big problem, if you come sans car, is isolation. You are 2 miles from the metro -- there is a shuttle that runs 1x/hour and then you are 3 stops from downtown Bethesda and about 10 stops from Washington. There are restaurants including Legal Seafood and CPK at the big mall that is a 1/2 mile walk. There is another mall and some more restaurants about 1 mile away in the other direction. wifi tip: if visiting NIH is that you can get a high room facing the courtyard and continue to use their wifi instead of the $13 hotel wifi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent experience at our hotel. We appreciate you staying with us while visitng NIH. Please let us know if we may ever be of assistance to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend. There were some issues with the front desk and housekeeping - the service was a notch down from a typical Marriott. But the size of the room and layout were a step up. The bed was a little firm, but not too bad. The breakfast can be passed on unless it is included. If not, head to Starbucks down the street. Overall, good location for family trip to DC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hello NYCandworld, Thanks for taking time to post your comments. We take pride in our team and I am disappointed that we fell short in delivering the warm and inviting service to you. Please know that our entire team views and acts upon all of the comments shared on Trip Advisor and that we all feel that we have let you down and that it will not happen again.

We hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

As someone who makes and confirms reservations for a high frequency business traveler, I contact hotels several times a week. The reservation staffperson at the Bethesda Marriott Suites that I just spoke with was hands down the worst I've encountered...very inefficient and rude. I was confirming a late arrival -- it took 15 minutes on the phone and to top it off she gave me a false confirmation number! I hope the rooms are nice, but I didn't get a good impression of the service. It would not be on my list of hotel options for the business traveler in Bethesda.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback concerning your issues experienced today while confirming updates to your reservation at our hotel. Based on your comments I would like to apologize for the manner in which our staff responded. This is not consistent with our level of service and was dissapointing to hear. Our objective is to provide exceptional customer service so when we fall short of that goal it is not taken lightly. I welcome an opportunity to discuss this matter with you further and can be reached at marty.roth@marriott.com. Thank you again for taking the time to make us aware of your experience so that we may have an opportunity to learn and improve from it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Coming into town for a neighborhood reunion with some childhood friends, we looked for a place that was close to my friend's house and found the Marriott Suites. Check-in was a breeze and the desk help was very friendly and was happy to explain the parking and the amenities. The room was perfect for the three of us as there was a pull-out couch in the living room for my sister and a very comfortable bed and nicely decorated bedroom separated by surprisingly quiet glass french doors. The shower had great water pressure and strong jets. The bathroom had sliding doors and was accessible from either the bedroom or the living room which allowed both privacy and ease of use. Be aware that parking in the garage costs fifteen dollars a day and with the swipe of your room key, you may enter and exit as often as you wish for the same amount.
All in all, the Marriott was clean, friendly, and was very conveniently located with quick access to either highways 495 or 270. On a future visit, we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for your post concerning your experience at our hotel. We are glad to hear that you found it to be a pleasant stay and hope that you enjoyed reuniting with your childhood friends. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bethesda Marriott Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Marriott Suites

Address: 6711 Democracy Blvd., Bethesda, MD 20817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#3 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda Marriott Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and inviting hospitality welcomes guests to the Bethesda Marriott Suites, a sophisticated hotel in North Bethesda, where travelers can enjoy some of the largest guestrooms in the county. Conveniently situated near I-270, the I-495 Beltway, D.C. Metro and three major airports, our hotel's North Bethesda location is just 30 minutes from downtown Washington, D.C. Making it an ideal choice for family vacations, business travel or extended-stay needs. Large guest rooms feature warm tones, a separate living room and large bedroom, all designed with comfort and convenience in mind. Plush bedding ensembles, king-size beds and high-tech amenities combine to insure an outstanding hotel experience with convenient access to the National Institute of Health, Food and Drug Administration, Suburban Hospital and other destinations. Our Bethesda hotel's free shuttle service to the Metro and other local points, makes it easy to enjoy area museums, monuments, restaurants, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bethesda Marriott Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda Marriott Hotel Bethesda
Marriott Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda Marriott Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.