We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place out of the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Marriott Suites

Save Saved
You added Bethesda Marriott Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bethesda Marriott Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6711 Democracy Blvd., Bethesda, MD 20817   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast + Free WiFi
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Bethesda
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place out of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Following other reviewer's advice we choose the Marriott Suites in Bethesda for three nights. It was a good choice. The rooms are all suites which includes a sitting area. They are very comfortable, clean, well maintained, and good toiletries. The bed was comfortable. The lobby has a friendly feel to it with professional check-in agents. The parking is easy and accessible. Restaurant and lounge are handy and very nicely laid out. We were impressed with the how friendly the wait staff were. We only had breakfast there, but were satisfied with the quality.
We did have room service our first night, just ordering a burger. That was a little disappointing. A plain cold bun with a small over done patty. It lacked sufficient condiments and we had to request more. That needs improvements.
The other areas requiring improvements are the lack of a bell hop when you drive up. This is a nice hotel, so where are the bell hops. Never did see any.
I have a real hard time with being charged $12.50 a day for wireless internet hookup. To improve customer satisfaction they should get off that kick. Its an irritation that isn't necessary.
The bottom line is we would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    92
    30
    13
    4
See reviews for
58
33
13
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was the perfect spot to start our trip (stayed Saturday and Sunday nights 3/30 and 3/31), and we found the week-end rates to be a fraction of compararable quality hotels inside DC (and rate came with free breakfast). We did have a car, and found it to be an easy drive to downtown DC (20+ minutes). Rooms are very spacious, come with a fridge, and a microwave can be requested from the front desk. King size bed was very comfortable and bathroom was adequate. Only negatives I found was $15 per day parking, and the pull-out sofa was not very comfortable (we have experienced both slightly better and much worse quality so it was within acceptable range). Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms and hotel in good shape.

Interestingly, to extend the stay for a Tuesday night was well more than 2x our Saturday-Monday rate, so we ended up checking out a day earlier and moving to a more downtown (Zoo area) hotel that we were able to get a much better rate on (2 rooms through priceline for 4 star cheaper than the Tuesday night rate for the 1 room).

I would strongly recommend this hotel to base out of for the right price, but once you get to more premium pricing, pricelining a 4 star more downtown becomes the better option.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Grove, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I spent a Friday and Saturday night at this hotel. We were very happy with the room. It was clean, spacious, and comfy. The pool was nice - I'm assuming the weekends are dead at this hotel considering that it's in a business park so we had the place to ourselves most of the time. We would absolutely stay here again if we decide to head back to the Washington DC area. Only not so great thing to mention is the $15 per night parking...there were plenty of spaces, parking wasn't really an issue, and there's not many places you can get via public transportation easily so a car is highly recommended. If you're spending the money to stay at the hotel, they should really consider validating the parking.

Room Tip: Our room on the 9th floor was great - away from the elevator and the ice machine - we didn't hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington d.c.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We really appreciated the roomy suite, which included a wet bar, sitting area and empty (yea!) refrigerator for us to chill a bottle of sparkling wine. The king bed was super comfy although for the life of me I don't get why there is no comforter or blanket in the room, no shower caps, and no wine glasses. I checked in early, asking for robes and champagne glasses to be brought up, then went away and returned later that night. The robes were delivered but no glasses. Still, I appreciate that they comped my parking (as a Marriot Rewards member) without batting an eyelash. Overall, we would come back due to the low weekend Priceline rate and spacious suite.

Room Tip: All suites are the same so it doesn't matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This Marriott Suites is certainly nice enough: spacious clean rooms, free newspaper, comfortable bed, indoor pool, etc. However, in classic Marriott style, breakfast is extra cost, parking is extra cost, WiFi is extra cost. It is located in a business park, so do not expect to use public transportation to get anywhere. It has a friendly staff and provided an excellent rate on a March weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Having two very young children, we wanted a clean and safe hotel. I'm also a patient at NIH and wanted a hotel close by. The hotel room was very clean. Nice suite! We were very pleased with the cleanliness. It's 1.5 miles away from NIH. 10 minutes away at 6:00am with very little traffic. The pool with a lifeguard made our stay even more enjoyable. The bar and restaurant looked very nice. Also, there's a mall up the street that is nice to shop and grab a bite to eat unlike downtown Bethesda. There's a parking garage with a enclosed walkway to the hotel. Would definitely stay here again! Thank You Marriott!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My wife and I have been staying at this property over the past four years and will return. It is close to the beltway, the Metro, and a decent mall. The dining room service is very good and great for breakfast and lunch. Room service is available until 11 PM, another plus. Parking is covered and convenient. The pools and gym are clean and well maintained. The hotel served as home for many during the storm that left much of the area without power and continued to offer excellent service. The rooms are spacious and a great weekend value.

Room Tip: The internet is a little sketchy but ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bethesda Marriott Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Marriott Suites

Address: 6711 Democracy Blvd., Bethesda, MD 20817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#3 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda Marriott Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bethesda Marriott Suites in Maryland combines exceptional services and facilities with style, making it the perfect location for meetings, receptions, weddings, and social events near Washington DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bethesda Marriott Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda Marriott Hotel Bethesda
Marriott Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda Marriott Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.