We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a marriott - Nice size rooms, clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Marriott Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bethesda Marriott Suites to your Saves list
Bethesda Marriott Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6711 Democracy Blvd., Bethesda, MD 20817   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Big with AAA Rates
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“It's a marriott - Nice size rooms, clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

A hotel that is close to NIH, not close to the DC site seeing. Is really a business oriented facility. Have been here several times this year. The rooms are single room suites with comfortable desks, beds. Hotel is clean and staff are professional. Clean conference rooms. Food is good at the resturant and the hotel has a shuttle that will take you to local bethesda resturaunts. Good work out facility.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    97
    30
    10
    3
See reviews for
69
37
7
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I had a two week trip at the Marriott HQ in Bethesda and was staying at the Bethesda Marriott. Loved the spacious and well designed rooms. The sofa in the living room can be converted into a extra bed very easily to accomodate an extra person. The food menu is limited but is of a very good quality. I also used the gift shop anfd the free shuttle quite a bit. The free shuttle takes you to the Mall & the Metro; two very important locations within Bethesda.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I would not book this hotel again. Rooms are nice and service is fine, however, the location of the hotel is just too far out to go sightseeing in Washington DC. While the hotel offers a free shuttle to the metro station, the shuttle only runs every hour (every 30 min in the mornings on weekdays) and only until 9pm (and you have to call beforehand for the shuttle to actually come by...). The shuttle takes you to the Grosvenor Metro station, which is way out of downtown - and just getting to the metro takes about 15 minutes with the shuttle, than add another 30 minutes for your travel with the metro to the downtown area. If you are just staying in DC for a couple of days, I would not recommend this hotel. Why in the world would you need a extra room with an TV that is small and not even a flat-screen, or an extra kitchen sink but not a mircowave? I guess the hotel wasn't built for leisure travellers, but for business people who wish to attend some meeting in the marriott headquaters next door...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights since we had a wedding to attend in Bethesda and it was a convenient and it was truly one of the nicest hotels we have stayed at for the price.
The suites are roomy with two rooms and appear to have been recently updated.
Most importantly for us is that it was über clean! We stayed on the ninth floor and the housekeeper was meticulous and very attentive.
The fitness center is huge facing the indoor and outdoor pools both staffed with lifeguards.
The front desk is efficient but not the friendliest.
Truly the only negative I can say is that you have to pay $15 a day for parking and nearly as much for wifi in your room. However, considering the reasonable hotel rate in the metro area of D.C., the amenities offered in the hotel, and the fact that it is an all suite super clean hotel, it's still a great deal. We look forward to staying at this hotel again when visiting the area in the future!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This hotel met every need we had while visiting DC for a long weekend. I booked the room at a rate of $65 per night by bidding on this area and was worth every $$ and more. Extra $15 for parking per night was not excessive when the rate per night was so low.

The room was oversize with a King bed, separate living area, wet bar area, walk through closet/sink area and separate toilet and shower room. The room had a small balcony as well. The room was clean and the bed was soft and fluffy - just the way we like it.

Free shuttle to the metro was nice - The fact that it was free made up for the very strict time schedule they run. They went to the metro on the hour - only when requested ahead of time - and return from metro 15 minutes after the hour (again on request only) The last shuttle was 9:15pm which was a bit limiting. Taxi ran about $12 for the one morning we did not want to wait. The train ride to Metro Center was about 25 minutes long and puts you right into the heart of DC.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

You get a lot of space here between the bedroom behind french doors and the living, bar and office area. Like Embassy Suites but on steriods, much more contemporary than typical Embassy Suites. Room was quiet and shower had plenty of hot water. We drove to Grovesner Metro station, parked and took the metro down to DC for a couple dollars. Hotel staff tried to be helpful but really was not that familar with the sights of DC but that is a tradeoff when you stay so far out of DC. Was here on business and host suggested this hotel. In terms of value, thought it was overpriced. Paid same as Westin Georgetown.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Indiana/Chicago
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This hotel has easy highway and beltway access. We traveled with our two kids while in town for a family celebration. The rooms are all suites, meaning a king bed in a room separated by glass French doors to sitting room with a double sleeper sofa. The thin curtains and no lock on the French doors meant limited privacy but at least it was something. The room also had a small balcony, desk, two TVs, and a wet bar with mini fridge. The pull out wasn't very comfy but adequate. The king bed wasn't the best but I've slept on worse.

The hotel has adjacent indoor and outdoor pools, with lifeguard. In early June the outdoor pool was as cold as Lake Michigan in June ... Cold! The indoor heated pool was cool. The pools are each about 25 feet by 10 feet, good enough for a dip to make the kids happy. The indoor portion is in a giant atrium so you feel like you are outside.

The hotel brought extra towels to our room pronto and the staff we encountered were nice.

The hotel is not in downtown Bethesda so if you want to walk to shops and restaurants or the Metro this is not for you. If you want to hop on the highway it has a good location.

I booked it on Priceline for $100 for a Tues-Sat stay. I think I could have gotten it for $90, but that was way better than the $200+ that sites like Expedia wanted me to pay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bethesda Marriott Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Marriott Suites

Address: 6711 Democracy Blvd., Bethesda, MD 20817
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#3 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda Marriott Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and inviting hospitality welcomes guests to the Bethesda Marriott Suites, a sophisticated hotel in North Bethesda, where travelers can enjoy some of the largest guestrooms in the county. Conveniently situated near I-270, the I-495 Beltway, D.C. Metro and three major airports, our hotel's North Bethesda location is just 30 minutes from downtown Washington, D.C. Making it an ideal choice for family vacations, business travel or extended-stay needs. Large guest rooms feature warm tones, a separate living room and large bedroom, all designed with comfort and convenience in mind. Plush bedding ensembles, king-size beds and high-tech amenities combine to insure an outstanding hotel experience with convenient access to the National Institute of Health, Food and Drug Administration, Suburban Hospital and other destinations. Our Bethesda hotel's free shuttle service to the Metro and other local points, makes it easy to enjoy area museums, monuments, restaurants, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Bethesda Marriott Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda Marriott Hotel Bethesda
Marriott Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda Marriott Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.