We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Marriott Suites

Save Saved
You added Bethesda Marriott Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bethesda Marriott Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6711 Democracy Blvd., Bethesda, MD 20817   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast + Free WiFi
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Bethesda
Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights since we had a wedding to attend in Bethesda and it was a convenient and it was truly one of the nicest hotels we have stayed at for the price.
The suites are roomy with two rooms and appear to have been recently updated.
Most importantly for us is that it was über clean! We stayed on the ninth floor and the housekeeper was meticulous and very attentive.
The fitness center is huge facing the indoor and outdoor pools both staffed with lifeguards.
The front desk is efficient but not the friendliest.
Truly the only negative I can say is that you have to pay $15 a day for parking and nearly as much for wifi in your room. However, considering the reasonable hotel rate in the metro area of D.C., the amenities offered in the hotel, and the fact that it is an all suite super clean hotel, it's still a great deal. We look forward to staying at this hotel again when visiting the area in the future!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    90
    30
    13
    4
See reviews for
57
32
13
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This hotel met every need we had while visiting DC for a long weekend. I booked the room at a rate of $65 per night by bidding on this area and was worth every $$ and more. Extra $15 for parking per night was not excessive when the rate per night was so low.

The room was oversize with a King bed, separate living area, wet bar area, walk through closet/sink area and separate toilet and shower room. The room had a small balcony as well. The room was clean and the bed was soft and fluffy - just the way we like it.

Free shuttle to the metro was nice - The fact that it was free made up for the very strict time schedule they run. They went to the metro on the hour - only when requested ahead of time - and return from metro 15 minutes after the hour (again on request only) The last shuttle was 9:15pm which was a bit limiting. Taxi ran about $12 for the one morning we did not want to wait. The train ride to Metro Center was about 25 minutes long and puts you right into the heart of DC.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

You get a lot of space here between the bedroom behind french doors and the living, bar and office area. Like Embassy Suites but on steriods, much more contemporary than typical Embassy Suites. Room was quiet and shower had plenty of hot water. We drove to Grovesner Metro station, parked and took the metro down to DC for a couple dollars. Hotel staff tried to be helpful but really was not that familar with the sights of DC but that is a tradeoff when you stay so far out of DC. Was here on business and host suggested this hotel. In terms of value, thought it was overpriced. Paid same as Westin Georgetown.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Indiana/Chicago
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has easy highway and beltway access. We traveled with our two kids while in town for a family celebration. The rooms are all suites, meaning a king bed in a room separated by glass French doors to sitting room with a double sleeper sofa. The thin curtains and no lock on the French doors meant limited privacy but at least it was something. The room also had a small balcony, desk, two TVs, and a wet bar with mini fridge. The pull out wasn't very comfy but adequate. The king bed wasn't the best but I've slept on worse.

The hotel has adjacent indoor and outdoor pools, with lifeguard. In early June the outdoor pool was as cold as Lake Michigan in June ... Cold! The indoor heated pool was cool. The pools are each about 25 feet by 10 feet, good enough for a dip to make the kids happy. The indoor portion is in a giant atrium so you feel like you are outside.

The hotel brought extra towels to our room pronto and the staff we encountered were nice.

The hotel is not in downtown Bethesda so if you want to walk to shops and restaurants or the Metro this is not for you. If you want to hop on the highway it has a good location.

I booked it on Priceline for $100 for a Tues-Sat stay. I think I could have gotten it for $90, but that was way better than the $200+ that sites like Expedia wanted me to pay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

The rooms are very spacious, comfortable and well appointed; the lobby is comfortable with a good lounge; and the location is convenient if you are visiting the MD part of the DC area. And all this at a very reasonable price. My only critique of this Marriott is the chain's annoying practice of trying to charge you $13/day for internet use. This one compounds the aggravation by charging an additional fee to park in its garage (does not notify you of this) while plentiful surface parking is free. Still the combination of good facilities and friendly service earn it the four stars.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The very low rate that I paid for the room ($89) saved the overall rating. Because it's such a good value, I am giving it the benefit of the doubt. The room was ok. Calling it a "suite" is somewhat incorrect; although it is two rooms, both rooms are so small, although I guess technically it is a suite. The room had a distinctly early 90's feel to it: lots of mirrors, somewhat dated furniture, right down to the tube tv in the sitting area (the bedroom did have a small LG flatscreen). I did not like the bathroom layout as there was no door separating the bedroom from part of the bathroom area. There is also no ventilation fan in the bathroom which is somewhat odd. Parking was $15, but I was ok with this due to the low room rate. I did find the parking garage process to be difficult; the garage parking spaces are incredibly small and barely fit a full-size vehicle. We also had several near misses driving around the garage which is poorly designed making it difficult to see oncoming cars! The lobby area was nice enough with a decent bar although I was disappointed that "last call" was at 11:45 on a Saturday night. Also, be forewarned this would not be a good place to stay for tourism as it is nowhere near the metro. In fact, it's not really particularly close to anything, even downtown Bethesda was a 10-15 minute drive. On a positive note, the front-desk graciously extended our check out time by an hour. There are scores of better choices in the DC area but if you can score a great low rate, go for it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Indiana
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

This property would easily qualify as very good or excellent, if it weren't for multiple service failures.

As I was unpacking on the first day, I noticed that the carpet near the sink area was wet. I assumed that a previous guest had spilled something and that it was drying. When I returned to the room the next day, I discovered an industrial grade dehumidifier and a giant fan both blowing at full speed. It was extremely loud. I called the front desk - they were completely unaware of the situation - but quickly agreed to move me to a different room. The desk manager delivered the keys and offered to help me pack. He also credited my Marriott Rewards account with 5000 points for the inconvenience.

My new room was identical in layout, but included a balcony. Unfortunately, the previous guest and/or the housekeeping staff had failed to lock and/or bar the balcony door. A guest in the adjacent room could enter my room as easily as if I had left the front door open. I also noticed that someone had left a cup full of cigarette butts on the balcony - which is, of course, a problem considering the fact it was a smoke-free hotel.

I complained to the on-duty manager about the door & the cigarettes. He said he would take care of it. I was a bit surprised when I returned to my room the following day and found that the cigarettes were still there. A second trip to the front desk finally solved the issue.

In general, the Bethesda Marriott Suites is a nice place to stay. But as someone else has noted, one tends to be nickel & dimed. Parking is $15. Continental breakfast is $12, a full breakfast is closer to $20. As a Gold member, I was given a daily $12 credit for the continental breakfast, but I passed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bethesda Marriott Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Marriott Suites

Address: 6711 Democracy Blvd., Bethesda, MD 20817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#3 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda Marriott Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bethesda Marriott Suites in Maryland combines exceptional services and facilities with style, making it the perfect location for meetings, receptions, weddings, and social events near Washington DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Bethesda Marriott Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda Marriott Hotel Bethesda
Marriott Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda Marriott Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.