We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No free breakfast for Marriott Gold Rewards member during weekends.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Marriott Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bethesda Marriott Suites to your Saves list
Bethesda Marriott Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6711 Democracy Blvd., Bethesda, MD 20817   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Big with AAA Rates
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No free breakfast for Marriott Gold Rewards member during weekends.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

1) No free breakfast for Marriott Gold Rewards member during weekends. Only free Internet for weekend stays. Only free breakfast + Internet for weekdays stay.

2) No microwave in my room. I was put on the floor for Marriott Rewards member only.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    94
    30
    10
    3
See reviews for
65
36
7
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

I stay at this hotel often because it is located convenientely close to my place of work. Unfortunately, this is the third time within two+ years when this hotel charged my credit card in error. First time this happened when I reserved the hotel with pre-paid option through the travel agency. The hotel bill showed zero balance, but later on they charged my credit card for all three nights, ignoring the fact that this was already paid through the travel agency. The hotel admitted the error, but unfortunately, they continued to make errors. The last time I stayed, they just charged my credit card for the amount not listed in the bill. When I called, they said it was done in error and apologized. So, check your credit card statement!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

My complaint centers around the Marriott’s unwillingness to provide accurate information regarding its rooms. On their website they claim the suite has a regular
oven, but when you arrive you're told only some suties are equipped with ovens.
If they were more honest, (i.e. not all rooms have ovens, please call the hotel for details); a person could decide to book a different room at a lower rate. I have so many complaints about the Marriott, its policies, practices, and its many properties, OMG,
it definitely would take a book.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomall, PA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

Stayed one Saturday night with my wife - it was close to my daughter's house, we had a car, and were looking for a decent place to lay our heads. We checked in, gave the clerk a nice greeting, and he looked at the room we were assigned and said "let's find you a quieter room". We had a nice suite on the top floor - immaculate, spacious, and we had booked on the internet and so it was a good value. We had a nightcap in the bar - very nice space and service. Some type of private party was going on, with people in costume wandering in and out - very entertaining. We looked at the exercise facility, pool, jacuzzi - looked very nice - if we had been staying longer we would have used it. I woke up early and ran - a nice local park - Cabin John - was about a mile down the road, and there were various trails along a creek there that made for beautiful running. The down side - they charge $14 a night for parking in an adjacent parking garage, though you are in an office building complex and could probably park in the office parking for free on weekends. But we used the garage - don't want to find out that they tow on Sundays.

All in all, it was a good experience and we wouldn't hesitate to return here.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

Love the separate living room/bedroom set-up. Comfortable bed with plenty of pillows. Living room has lots of seating and desk for working. Loved the plugs on lamps in both rooms which allowed multiple devices to be charge at the same time.

Well-appointed with refrigerator, safe, bar with sink in living room along with desk for work or dining. Lots of drawers in both rooms. Nice sized bathroom was actually two rooms - sink & closet (4 doors covered in full-length mirrors!) in one room, toilet & tub/shower in another.
Room service breakfast on time and very tasty with fresh foods.
BUT, no place to hang a long dress. Staff attentiveness varied from almost rude to very courteous.
They offer free shuttle to Metro which is nice touch but paying for WiFi is outrageous.
All in all, a nice hotel with high points for what matters.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

First, let me say that It's hard to complain about an otherwise very nice hotel when, as with many business travelers, I'm not actually paying for it. But this particular location was notable for its relative mediocrity.

In a recent flurry of business travel, I've stayed in quite a few Marriotts around the country, and this is definitely the least impressive so far. There are quite a few raves about this particular Marriott, and I'm not sure why. Yes, the room is spacious, well appointed, and as comfortable as any Marriott. But it's also lacking some of the creature comforts and services that I've very recently come to expect from the brand.

For example, most of the Marriotts (and all of the competing 4 star hotel chains I've stayed at recently) have had a dedicated concierge who will do whatever it takes to provide answers to odd questions. I try to maximize my biz-travel time with a bit of tourism during off-hours, and for a hotel that's isolated in a corporate park, the front desk staff were clueless about how to get to the Metro without a cab, and unwilling to find out. I did it myself, and it turned out to be simple. They should have known better.

Every other Marriott I've stayed in so far (except Times Square, strangely) has had rather comfy bathrobes in the closet. A small creature comfort, but a nice touch that I missed more than I thought I would. Especially when I have to work from the room all day.

The food, whether ordered through room service or at the restaurant in the lobby, is overpriced and dull. I've come to expect pricey meals at decent hotels, but the food here was a distinct notch below.

One night, I hit the bar for a drink to unwind: a Maker's Mark, neat. Though I saw the bartender pour from a Makers bottle, it was most certainly NOT Makers: pungent, harsh, and the color of tequila. I pointed it out, and while he did swap the drink out for another bourbon that tasted right, it's quite obvious they've been refilling at least that bottle with something cheap and inferior.

So no horror stories here, and if this were the first Marriott I'd stayed at, I wouldn't have been disappointed. But for a Marriott located across the street from headquarters, I was pretty surprised to find amenities and service noticeably below other locations.

Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutter Creek, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

Stayed here for five (count 'em FIVE) nights as a Marriott PLATINUM 'guest'. The location is right next door to Marriott's corporate world headquarters - so you would think this place would be premiere uno..............NOT!!! Room was OK, everything else was less than you would get at a Motel 6. Bar was waaaaaaay over priced. Breakfast of Eggs Benedict I could have used to pave the sidewalks of Times Square and they would last until our sun melts the moon. Their 'free' shuttle to the Metro (and other places) is fine..........as long as you do it when THEY want to. Arrived at the Metro station, only to watch the Marriott bus pull away (when an arriving train (mine) was IN THE STATION - real brain power working here). Called the desk and told I was SOL - wait an hour. Paid $15 for a cab ride back to the joint from the Metro station.
Bottom line. You can do a lot better than this joint, but I do not know where. If this is the best they have to offer (next to their corporate HQ) they better be afraid........very afraid!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bethesda Marriott Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Marriott Suites

Address: 6711 Democracy Blvd., Bethesda, MD 20817
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#3 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda Marriott Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and inviting hospitality welcomes guests to the Bethesda Marriott Suites, a sophisticated hotel in North Bethesda, where travelers can enjoy some of the largest guestrooms in the county. Conveniently situated near I-270, the I-495 Beltway, D.C. Metro and three major airports, our hotel's North Bethesda location is just 30 minutes from downtown Washington, D.C. Making it an ideal choice for family vacations, business travel or extended-stay needs. Large guest rooms feature warm tones, a separate living room and large bedroom, all designed with comfort and convenience in mind. Plush bedding ensembles, king-size beds and high-tech amenities combine to insure an outstanding hotel experience with convenient access to the National Institute of Health, Food and Drug Administration, Suburban Hospital and other destinations. Our Bethesda hotel's free shuttle service to the Metro and other local points, makes it easy to enjoy area museums, monuments, restaurants, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Bethesda Marriott Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda Marriott Hotel Bethesda
Marriott Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda Marriott Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.