We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Lots of Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American Inn of Bethesda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added American Inn of Bethesda to your Saves list
American Inn of Bethesda
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8130 Wisconsin Ave., Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Lots of Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here with my Explorica group and had a wonderful experience, from day 1 and all the way through to checking out day 5, the front desk personnel were always pleasant, very helpful and willing to help in accomodating the needs of the group, even when I called for advice about nearby pizza availability, at every opportunity the staff were willing to go the extra mile. The restaurant staff likewise, at Guapo's, going above and beyond to provide space for the group to watch sports late one evening.
Location is fantastic for visiting DC an easy couple of blocks off 495W, and the motor coach had no problems picking us up either in front on Wisconsin or at the back entry on Woodmont. Although modest and small in space, this property makes up for it largely by both it's perfect location and genuinely warm, caring staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx8310, Guest Services at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Hello LMCinVB!

Thank you for your candid feedback. I shared this with our team and they really appreciated your positive insights in our hotel. We are very happy to have served your team. Satisfying all of your needs was our top priority. We look forward to your future stays with us. You can still reach us at (301) 656-9300 for future reservation. Have a good day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    86
    40
    14
    23
See reviews for
47
25
36
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
da burgh
Level Contributor
115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel is what it is. An older, no frills place that is close to the NIH and WRNMMC. It had a few issues; I noticed them, my husband didn't care or notice.

Good: Close to places you need to be. In fair shape/ standard shape like an comfort inn from 5-10 years ago. Large rack to hang clothes. Nice chair for a built in desk area. Nice flat screen TV. Many lamps. Parking and internet are free. Free cont. breakfast. Supposedly you can walk to NIH from here, but it seemed far for me. I see a pool out the window (outdoor), it's a good size pool. Decently maintained in most areas. Great local channel that was educational. People say the rooms are small, but they are standard for many hotels. There was 2 doubles, a desk, and big drawer set a large tv, a corner table with chairs a night stand, and a luggage rack, then you walk into the entry and there is a long clothes rack and the standard comfort in bathroom with a small counter space. You can use the outside mirror by the desk for make up and hair.

It has a shuttle TO NIH, but you can't get back because the shuttle stops running at 3 PM. SO, that was odd.

Average/ Not so good: Nothing huge, little things: You could hear the cars outside the window and the people on all sides. There were hundreds of little odd noises and hour, so bring some ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. Our shower was broken (the handle fell off if you touched it). Our remote had no backing, so you had to hold the batteries in to watch the TV. The window had a greasy film and you can't see out clearly. The local area offers nothing of interest, so you wouldn't come here to be part of an area or nightlife. It had the general feel of a Chinese restaurant in the small lobby area. The parking was tight- if you get back late you have to park elsewhere. Either way it is free. The beds were not supportive yet were firm. There was a near constant on / off buzz that made me think my phone was ringing. So, again, nothing big, just little things that my husband neither noticed nor cared about.

It is next to a double tree that seemed to have a nice bar scene, but on the same night their price was$40 more a night. So really this is a decision of cost versus expectations. We still paid $180 on a week day, so it's not cheap.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the road! We listen to trucks unload for an hour at 11 PM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx8310, Guest Sevices at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Linda,

Thank you for your detailed feedback. We are glad that some of our amenities including the free internet, breakfast and excellent location met your needs but regret the others that did not you’re your expectation .We have addressed the setbacks to our maintenance department for immediate action. We would also like to mention that the vicinity has almost 190 restaurants and 240 shops nearby which you can visit should you be in our area in the future. Thank you again for choosing our hotel for your stay. You can contact us at (301) 656 – 9300 or americaninn@baywoodhotels for future reservations. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judsonia, AR
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Very good location for a visit to Walter Reed and has lots of good restaurants around it within walking distance. The outer rooms are very small and are good for one person but I found it cramped for two. The inside rooms were larger and very nice. Parking is terrible and there are only maybe 12 spots at the hotel and if its full you have to park a block away in a pay lot.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here two nights, was a very small room but fine for what we needed it for - to sleep! Staff was friendly, location was GREAT. Had everything you need- a little fridge, coffee maker. Room was clean, internet worked like a charm. If you're looking for a basic no frills, clean place in a great location - this is your place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

It was very clean and nice bedroom. Moreover, they served variety complimentary breakfast, internet and parking. Nothing to complain at all. Staff were friendly, especially Adeline who accomodated my special request, and helpful. I highly recommended this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed in the hotel and I can say that the inclusions in the reservation were good, the breakfast, Internet connection and the parking. Credits to the staff Zein & Arianne for they are very attentive to the guests. They are very accommodating and helpful. I greatly recommend this hotel for future guests who are looking around the Bethesda area for accommodation!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I was very impress with the
room accommodation although I seen them small but have everything. The staff was friendly, helpful and accommodating to my personal needs.
The room was cleaned every day. Never have to return to a dirty room. The front desk staff. Excellent, with my special requests.
I highly recommend anyone that is traveling to make
a reservation with this location.
I know you would be pleased with the accommodation as I have been.

I would like to thanks everyone again for taking there time to make my stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
0.3 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
0.0 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 754 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 879 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#3 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Inn of Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn of Bethesda

Address: 8130 Wisconsin Ave., Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — American Inn of Bethesda 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delight to come home to, our Maryland hotel is designed to keep you comfortable and relaxed with stylish furnishings and a host of contemporary living amenities. Spacious and well-appointed with modern decor, our Bethesda hotel rooms are equipped with work desks, blackout drapes, premium cable television channels, clock radio, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, multi-line telephones and large in-room laptop safes. Free local calls and complimentary high-speed wireless Internet service (Wi-Fi) are provided in all of our accommodations to keep you connected on the go. We offer two different buildings to stay in, and a mini-fridge and rollaway beds are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Venere so you can book your American Inn of Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Inn Of Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
American Hotel Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Inn of Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.