We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American Inn of Bethesda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added American Inn of Bethesda to your Saves list
American Inn of Bethesda
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8130 Wisconsin Ave., Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Metro Package
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Woodbridge, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great staff Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I'am a frequent traveler. I stay in hotel's 300 hundred days out of a year.I was very impress with the
room accommodation. The staff was friendly, helpful and accommodating to my personal needs. The room was cleaned every day. Never having to return to a dirty room. The front desk staff. Excellent, with my special requests. Debra who works during the breakfast
always keeping things organized clean and stocked. I had one problem with the shower however the maintenance man on duty on top of it. I highly recommend anyone that is traveling to make
a reservation with this location.I know you would be pleased with the accommodation as I have been.


I would like to thanks everyone again for taking there time to make my stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    76
    32
    14
    19
See reviews for
39
20
29
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed one night at this hotel and I found it really quite nice. Considering the price of rooms at other hotels in Bethesda I thought it was a good deal. The room was small, but it had been renovated and linens were a nice quality. Internet and desk set up was up to date with good speeds. My room was clean. The staff were great and breakfast was pretty good for a freebie.

Other's comments about the parking were spot on. The parking garage at the hotel is very small and spaces are tight. If you arrive late, you will have to park down the street, which the hotel will reimburse you for. It's only a short walk and actually, I preferred the other lot given how narrow the spaces at the hotel's lot are,

Overall very good for the price and conveniently located in Bethesda.

Room Tip: My room was fine. No real view, but no street noise. Don't know if this was just luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Cumberland WV
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed here for two nights while visiting my nephew at Walter Reed. First the positives: room was clean & continental breakfast was decent. Now the negatives: The parking is free but if you don't find a spot in their tiny parking lot you have to park in a parking lot down the street (but they do cover the cost up to 10:00 am); the shuttle service (which was the main reason i chose the hotel) only runs from 7am to 3pm. Considering my nephew was in intensive care, I planned to stay past 3pm and therefore had to drive.

The room was in a section of the hotel not connected to the main building. I had to walk outside (in cold weather) each morning to get to breakfast. Also, my room was apparently right above the mexican restaurant which played loud music until 1 am.

I was not impressed with the staff at the front desk. One wasn't very helpful because her English was limited and the other wasn't overly friendly.

Overall, i was disappointed in this hotel considering the price i paid was quite high.

Room Tip: If you stay here request a room in the main tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I returned to this hotel with my wife. She was bothered by the lack of cleanliness of the rooms. Being a man, I never notice before. The hotel has a breakfast buffet included, but be warned when something runs out they will not replace it unless you ask and in some cases it will not be restocked. Breakfast ends at 9:30 AM, but by 9:00 AM many items are gone, so I guess the early bird gets the egg sandwich. I do like that they have a waffle iron and you can make your own waffles. Parking is free, but in the garage, the spaces are tight and there is a huge curb so if you pull up to close you can damage the front of your car on the chipped up curb surface. I guess many others have done this too. The hotel is conveniently located with respect to the metro (4 large blocks), NIH (4 large blocks), and the many good restaurants in Bethesda.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx8310, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to let everyone know about your stay. It is always nice to hear from guests. The entire staff and management appreciate all guest comments, espcially when they can help us improve on our product and service delivery. Should you have any additional comments or concerns please email me directly at americaninngm@baywoodhotels.com. Thank you again!!

Dan Appolonio,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The manager, Dan, and his front desk staff always go above and beyond to make my stays comfortable. It's not home, but the staff do their best to provide the comforts of home, from the bottles of water to the feather pillows. And the waffles at breakfast are always a treat. Great location for getting to NIH. I've stayed here many times in the past and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is the best alternative accommodation for a tourist. Me and my wife visited DC and decided to go out the city a little further and discover the town Bethesda and we stayed in this lovely hotel. The staff are really friendly ( room service and front desk ) . Both Arianne and Zain are very helpful and warm. I was a bit confused with the locality and they just hit the information I needed, in a professional manner. Bethesda is a nice community and I'm glad we decided to stay in this hotel. it's not as pricy and congested.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx8310, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to let everyone know about your stay. It is always good to hear from our guests, and when we exceed their expectations everyone on staff sees that we are making our guests happy. Thank you again for mentioning specific staff members, it is a great way to instill pride in the staff. Should you have any additional comments or concerns please email me directly at americaninngm@baywoodhotels.com. Thank you again!!

Dan Appolonio,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Small, but clean and comfortable, this hotel is in a walkable neighborhood with some great little shops and restaurants, and was centrally located to my two destinations on the trip.I appreciated the little refrigerator and bottles of water, nice extras for people who are away from home. If you just need a place to sleep, get clean and have coffee and a bite to eat before starting your day, this will do the trick. Pocket the money you save and treat yourself to dinner!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to American Inn of Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn of Bethesda

Address: 8130 Wisconsin Ave., Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — American Inn of Bethesda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your American Inn of Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Inn Of Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
American Hotel Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Inn of Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.