We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As always,location location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of American Inn of Bethesda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added American Inn of Bethesda to your Saves list
American Inn of Bethesda
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8130 Wisconsin Ave., Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“As always,location location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This visit to American Inn was for one night, we usually stay longer about 3-5 days. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Perfect location for our visits to NIH, easily walkable. Easy access to Metro in Bethesda or Medical Center for a leisurely visit into D.C. Front Desk staff friendly and knowledgeable. If you drive and space is available parking is free...other area hotels charge for parking. In the morning they offer a continental breakfast and some in our party look forward to the waffles.We enjoy coming back to the hotel in the afternoon and in the lobby they have coffee, tea, and cookies. Sometimes it's the little things that mean the most. The rooms have refridgerators, coffee makers, and now, bottles of water. Seems management is always thinking of the guests and how to make their stay more comfortable and relaxing. There is a Mexican restaurant attached to the property so no need to go out to eat. We recommend American Inn to those who ask about a hotel or those going to visit the area. It is a bit pricely but then again everything/place in that area is, you do get the most out of your money staying at the American Inn of Bethesda, Maryland.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    86
    40
    14
    23
See reviews for
47
25
36
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed at American inn bethesda looking for an apartment to move in so i had a lot of questions about the area and i asked Beth at the front desk and she was very patients with me and friendly, I felt like i knew her for a long time so i just want to say thank you for your help.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed at the American Inn for two nights during the Presidential Inauguration. After spending one night in a much more expensive upscale property I felt I got "more bang for my buck" at this one. The staff was friendly, helpful and accomodating, they truly seemed to value your business. A problem with the bill was adjusted immediately. Adeline and the property manager deserve high marks for their professionalism and excellent customer service. I would definelty stay at this property again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx8310, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to let everyone know about your stay. I have shared your comments with the entire staff, and we will all continue to work hard to ensure that each and every guest has the same experience as you did!! Should you have any additional comments or concerns please email me directly at americaninngm@baywoodhotels.com. Thank you again!!

Dan Appolonio,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed in the hotel during the inauguration week. i really like the freebies that were given to us. it was so helpful most esp the inauguration map. Adeline of the morning shift, and the two Asian girls was very informative of the places. Arianne helped us show the directions and Zein helped us look for the perfect place to eat and shop.

Dan the GM is very friendly and very approachable. to sum it all, American Inn is a best hotel to recommend for those people who wanted to visit the DC area.

Room Tip: 5th floor away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I had a wonderful experience staying in this hotel. Staffs were professional and helpfull especially Adeline at the front desk. The breakfast selections were awesome. If I go back to DC, I will definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx8310, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to let everyone know about your stay. The staff and management at The American Inn of Bethesda take great care to make sure that each guest has a wonderful experience. Should you have any additional comments or concerns please email me directly at americaninngm@baywoodhotels.com. Thank you again!!

Dan Appolonio,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint louis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This a wonderful hotel. Being on vacation, I wanted a hotel mainly for sleeping and this is perfect. It's very clean and the staff is warm and helpful. Only about five blocks from the Metro station it's convenient to all of the D.C. attractions. The staff goes beyond expectations to take care of their visitors. Also, if you are exhausted from sight-seeing, there is a great mexican restaurant next door that offers take out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, Indiana, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Helpful staff, I left my glasses on the counter and they over nighted them to me. The continental breakfast was really good. Good fresh food. Polite staff helped carry our luggage upstairs.IF i go back to this area I will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx8310, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you again for the positive review. The entire staff at the American Inn of Bethesda works hard every day to ensure all guests have an exceptional stay. We all appreciate it when we hear from our guests, especially when they really had a wonderful stay. If you have any addtional comments, please email me directly at americaninngm@baywoodhotels.com. Thank you again!
Dan Appolonio, CHA General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
0.3 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 754 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#3 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Inn of Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn of Bethesda

Address: 8130 Wisconsin Ave., Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — American Inn of Bethesda 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delight to come home to, our Maryland hotel is designed to keep you comfortable and relaxed with stylish furnishings and a host of contemporary living amenities. Spacious and well-appointed with modern decor, our Bethesda hotel rooms are equipped with work desks, blackout drapes, premium cable television channels, clock radio, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, multi-line telephones and large in-room laptop safes. Free local calls and complimentary high-speed wireless Internet service (Wi-Fi) are provided in all of our accommodations to keep you connected on the go. We offer two different buildings to stay in, and a mini-fridge and rollaway beds are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your American Inn of Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Inn Of Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
American Hotel Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Inn of Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.