We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No way Im coming back!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of American Inn of Bethesda

Save Saved
You added American Inn of Bethesda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
American Inn of Bethesda
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8130 Wisconsin Ave., Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Metro Package
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“No way Im coming back!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Come on!! For more than 200 US a night and I get worst quality than a Red roof??!!!

No way I can recomend or come back to this hotel again!!
The hallways where dirty, the beakfast was cheap and only bread and pancakes, NOTHING MORE!, the rooms you feel all the noise from the streat, I can barely sleep. and on top of that, NO PARKING available... only few parks and allways full!! You dont even want to come out because you dont know if you'll be able to park!!

DONT COME TO THIS HOTEL... IS NOT WORTH IT!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    71
    30
    14
    19
See reviews for
39
19
28
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here after the Derecho and following several days without power (thanks PEPCO). Room was well appointed and clean, and staff was very helpful. Breakfast was good but nothing special - standard free hotel breakfast. Guapo's is one of our favorite restaurants so the proximity is a plus, although our room was literally directly above the bar so we heard the Mexican music through the floor. I would recommend asking for a room not above the bar if possible, but even so the room was nice.

Room Tip: Make sure your room isn't above the Guapo's Bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx8310, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let everyone know about your stay at The American Inn of Bethesda. I have shared your comments with the hotel and restaurant staff about your recent experience staying with us. Shoud you have any additional comments or concerns please feel free to email me direclty at americaninngm@baywoodhotels.com and let me know. We hope to see you in the future.

Dan Appolonio, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The American Inn of Bethesda is always my organization's first choice for workshops. The conference room with its natural lighting and convenient extra snack and break space works perfectly for our groups. The combination of this excellent space plus reasonable price, fabulous location and wonderful helpful friendly staff can't be beat!


Mary R.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My organization used the American Inn for our 2-day workshop with about 25-30 people both days. We chose this hotel because they were not like other hotels that would charge a fortune for meeting space, and/or a food and beverage minimum. I worked directly with Cynthia Otoo, who was always willing to work with me on the details of our event; from reserving a hotel block for our participants, to how many tables and chairs her staff would set-up for us. As a non-profit advocacy organization, it was wonderful to have the meeting space donated - which allowed us to use our funds towards educational materials etc. During both days of our meeting, Cynthia made herself available the entire day so that she could address any needs or concerns throughout our meeting.

Things to think about for this meeting space: the Canterbury room was a perfect size for our workshop of about 25 people, they had a projector which was easy to use and set-up as well as provided sticky-note easel pads for group notes. The pool is located directly outside of the meeting room which was not an issue for us in the Fall but this would be a concern for Summer meetings. The space is also next to their small garage - which could be distracting at times if there is construction within the hotel (which was directly addressed and taken care of by Cynthia once I brought it to her attention.)

I stayed in the hotel one-night and was pleased with the cleanliness of the room. There were plenty of towels and the front desk had extra toiletries. The complimentary breakfast was great, although a bit difficult to find for some of our guests, since it was hosted in the back room of the adjoining restaurant, Guapo's.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone for business or personal use. It is not a big place and isn't like other hotel chains but it is clean, the staff is respectful and greet you by name whenever possible. I had a very good experience with the American Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx8310, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing! The entire staff and management of The American Inn of Bethesda appreciates it when guests provide feedback on the services wer are providing. Should you have any additional comments please email me directly at americaninngm@baywoodhotels.com and let me know. We hope to see you again soon!!

Dan Appolonio,CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Dan, I come to know provides great leadership. He is artitulate, funny and knowledgable,caring about all the other businesses in the area. The staff He has put together are not there solely as workers. People like Cynthia, Alex, Paulina and even the ignamatic person of Mr. Raul and not merely workers but understudies of His experience and knowlede, and I have personally been there a few times when He has imparted such to the staff. They themselves are great working in tandem to each other. All this makes one great hotel and one great trip. Hey Dan, Cynthia, Thank you. James G. Wallace Smyrna,Del

Room Tip: Overlooking the backside, looking down on the heart and soul of Bethseda, food and shops, the 12 roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed here for 4 days during my NIH study. I was always welcomed and any questions I had were answered. I slept well here on all of my nights here. The manager of the hotel was very knowledgeable about the area of Bethesda, which was very helpful for an out of towner like me. There is a continental breakfast every morning. Very kind and supportive staff, and I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My company held a conference in this hotel and we had an enjoyable experience. The rooms are a little tired but everything was clean and worked well. The key for us was the hotel staff. From the original booking, to the arrangements for the conference room, the assistance given to attendees, and the arrangements for coffee, lunch etc, the management and staff of the hotel could not have been more helpful and co-operative.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx8310, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a reivew of your stay. We at the hotel welcome all guest feedback, especially when it allows us to improve upon our service and product delivery. Again I want to thank you for the comments. If you have any additional comments or concerns please email me directly at americaninngm@baywoodhotels.com. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Dan Appolonio, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to American Inn of Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn of Bethesda

Address: 8130 Wisconsin Ave., Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — American Inn of Bethesda 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Otel so you can book your American Inn of Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Inn Of Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
American Hotel Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Inn of Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.