We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, good budget hotel to vist DC and NIH” 4 of 5 stars
Review of American Inn of Bethesda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added American Inn of Bethesda to your Saves list
American Inn of Bethesda
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8130 Wisconsin Ave., Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Bellaire, Texas
1 review
“Convenient, good budget hotel to vist DC and NIH”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I stayed at this hotel to help my daughter to move into Georgetown University dorm. I lived in this area before and am familiar with it, thus, chose to save money by staying at this hotel rather than a luxurious one in Georgetown area. The room was not gorgeous, but clean and nice with a refrigerator. To Georgetown University, it is very convenient - just taking Wisconsin Avenue to the south and make a right turn on Reservoir road. There were Safeway, Staples, Container Store and Ace Hardware Store on the way to Georgetown Univ. with free or free with validation (for shopping) parking. Although a free computer with internet connection was available at the lobby, internet speed was slow (but still free!). I noticed several people in the hotel who came to visit NIH. There appeared shuttle service to NIH was available. Hotel staff was nice. I forgot in the hotel my beloved beanie baby with sentimental value (a law school graduation gift from my daughter). They helped us to find it! I think this is a great place to stay when you visit DC or NIH with budget in your mind.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx8310, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Good Afteronn,
Thank you for taking time to let us know how we are doing! I have shared with the housekeeping staff your appreciation of the fact that we were able to find your missing item and get it back to you. The staff and management are always happy to hear that our guests' enjoyed their stay. If you have any additional comments or concerns, please contact me directly at
(301)656-9300 or americaninngm@baywoodhotels.com. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we are doing and we hope to see you again soon!

Dan Appolonio
General Manager
The American Inn of Bethesda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    88
    40
    15
    23
See reviews for
50
26
37
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I would rather stay on the bench with the homeless man living on the bench outside than stay here again. We were visiting for a wedding and due to nearby events, had to stay here. The entire hotel smelled strongly of baby poop. The employees cannot give directions to save their lives and were very rude. (I realize I interrupted the front desk employee's personal call, but I had been waiting and standing in front of her for quite a while.) The parking lot is tiny and difficult to get in and out of. The hotel did not seem clean. While we stayed there, they actually shut off the hot water to put in a new system, something that would have been good to do at a time when people weren't showering. The pool was only open for very limited odd hours. You couldn't pay me to return here.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx8310, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments about your most recent stay with us. I am very disappointed to hear that your stay was not satisfactory at all. We have addressed the issues that you have mentioned so that future guests will not have the same unpleasant and less than expected stay. I want to again express my sincere apology for your poor stay, and if you have any additional comments to pass on, please contact me directly at (301) 656-9300 or via email at americaninngm@baywoodhotels.com.

Dan Appolonio
General Manager
The American Inn of Bethesda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
84 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

This is a middle of the road hotel amongst much nicer ones in the downtown Bethesda area. I would compare this to a Quality Inn. I was in room 131 and it was very spacious. I saw some people had tiny rooms. This room is in the annex over the restaurant next door which is probably why my room was bigger. It reminded me of a bedroom in the attic of a farmhouse. The room was clean, fixtures are outdated. The staff was very accomodating. I forgot a razor and one was given to me at no charge. I would recommend the restaurant, Guapo's next door. I checked-in at 9:45 pm and not having dinner I ran next door to eat. Despite closing in 10 minutes the restaurant accomodated me gladly and was very friendly. Overall the experience was great. I would prefer to stay at a nicer place. If you are constrained by price as to what you are looking to spend, I would book your hotel early as when I looked several days prior there were other hotels in my price range but I delayed booking. Haste makes waste!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx8310, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Good Afternoon, Once again thank you for taking time to inform us of your recent stay with The American Inn of Bethesda. I have shared your comments with my staff and we will be working on improving our product in the future. If you have any additional comments or concerns, please feel freel to contact me directly at (301) 656-9300 or via email at americaninngm@baywoodhotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

My friends and I happen to have booked the weekend Hurricane Irene was planning on arriving along the east coast. Long story short, we had scheduled a white house tour several months in advance and didn't want to miss the tour despite the chance of the hurricane. We were booked at the American Inn for 2 nights over a weekend and when we arrived, the hotel already had signs up on the elevators and each floor indicating their plan if any emergency was to happen or if power was shut off during the hurricane which was good to hear. The beds were comfortable, although the rooms were a tad smaller than usual, it was comfy and clean. They served breakfast each morning that included coffee, juices, cereal, waffles, bagels, boiled eggs and various pastries. They were all fresh and well presented. Overall, we will definitely plan to come back here the next time we visit DC, it was only about a half an hour drive to the capitol or you can walk a few blocks down to the metro station. We had an enjoyable experience even during the hurricane and felt safe and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx8310, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Good afternoon,
Thank you again for choosing The American Inn of Bethesda. I have shared your comments with the entire staff and we are always pleased when we hear that we have done our jobs and our guests are happy. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Please contact me directly at ----------- if you have any other comments or concerns. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

stayed here for 1 night with a relative visiting town. the carpeting in the main lobby appeared a bit dirty and stained. the staff was very friendly when they greeted us. room clean, had a funny smell at first but overall not bad. beds very comfortable. breakfast good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx8310, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for taking time to leave us a review of your stay. The staff and management of The American Inn of Bethesda appreciate all guest feedback. We will be addressing our lobby/first floor flooring in the near future. Thank you again for pointing out the continental breakfast. If you have any additional comments, please contact me directly at (301) 656-9300 or americaninngm@baywoodhotels.com. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,
Dan Appolonio, CHA
General Manager
The American Inn of Bethesda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Charming small hotel close to Washington D.C. It is in a great neighborhood and there is an excellent Mexican restaurant right next door. The breakfast was great, my daughter enjoyed the pool and the rooms were clean. Only problem is that parking is somewhat limited. Would definitely come here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx8310, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Good Afternoon,
On behalf of the staff and management of The American Inn of Bethesda, I want to thank you for choosing our hotel and letting us know how we are doing! It is always great to hear from our guests and find out if we are exceeding everyone's expectations. I have shared your comments with the entire staff and we will continue to work hard to provide the service and product our guests' have come to expect. If you have any additional comments please feel free to contact me at (301) 656-9300 or email me at americaninngm@baywoodhotels.com. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Conveniently located on Wisconsin Ave. near to downtown Bethesda (10 min walk). Small facility, but extraordinarily clean and well kept. Breakfast okay, gets you started, nothing to write home about. Staff cordial. Parking free but severely limited. Price, compared with others in downtown area, right on.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
0.3 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 763 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
3.0 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#3 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Inn of Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn of Bethesda

Address: 8130 Wisconsin Ave., Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bethesda
#6 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — American Inn of Bethesda 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delight to come home to, our Maryland hotel is designed to keep you comfortable and relaxed with stylish furnishings and a host of contemporary living amenities. Spacious and well-appointed with modern decor, our Bethesda hotel rooms are equipped with work desks, blackout drapes, premium cable television channels, clock radio, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, multi-line telephones and large in-room laptop safes. Free local calls and complimentary high-speed wireless Internet service (Wi-Fi) are provided in all of our accommodations to keep you connected on the go. We offer two different buildings to stay in, and a mini-fridge and rollaway beds are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your American Inn of Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Inn Of Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
American Hotel Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Inn of Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.