We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as some reviews suggest but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of American Inn of Bethesda

Save Saved
You added American Inn of Bethesda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 9 more sites!
American Inn of Bethesda
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8130 Wisconsin Ave., Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Bethesda
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not as bad as some reviews suggest but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

This is a middle of the road hotel amongst much nicer ones in the downtown Bethesda area. I would compare this to a Quality Inn. I was in room 131 and it was very spacious. I saw some people had tiny rooms. This room is in the annex over the restaurant next door which is probably why my room was bigger. It reminded me of a bedroom in the attic of a farmhouse. The room was clean, fixtures are outdated. The staff was very accomodating. I forgot a razor and one was given to me at no charge. I would recommend the restaurant, Guapo's next door. I checked-in at 9:45 pm and not having dinner I ran next door to eat. Despite closing in 10 minutes the restaurant accomodated me gladly and was very friendly. Overall the experience was great. I would prefer to stay at a nicer place. If you are constrained by price as to what you are looking to spend, I would book your hotel early as when I looked several days prior there were other hotels in my price range but I delayed booking. Haste makes waste!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx8310, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Good Afternoon, Once again thank you for taking time to inform us of your recent stay with The American Inn of Bethesda. I have shared your comments with my staff and we will be working on improving our product in the future. If you have any additional comments or concerns, please feel freel to contact me directly at (301) 656-9300 or via email at americaninngm@baywoodhotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    61
    26
    12
    16
See reviews for
30
14
27
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

My friends and I happen to have booked the weekend Hurricane Irene was planning on arriving along the east coast. Long story short, we had scheduled a white house tour several months in advance and didn't want to miss the tour despite the chance of the hurricane. We were booked at the American Inn for 2 nights over a weekend and when we arrived, the hotel already had signs up on the elevators and each floor indicating their plan if any emergency was to happen or if power was shut off during the hurricane which was good to hear. The beds were comfortable, although the rooms were a tad smaller than usual, it was comfy and clean. They served breakfast each morning that included coffee, juices, cereal, waffles, bagels, boiled eggs and various pastries. They were all fresh and well presented. Overall, we will definitely plan to come back here the next time we visit DC, it was only about a half an hour drive to the capitol or you can walk a few blocks down to the metro station. We had an enjoyable experience even during the hurricane and felt safe and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx8310, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Good afternoon,
Thank you again for choosing The American Inn of Bethesda. I have shared your comments with the entire staff and we are always pleased when we hear that we have done our jobs and our guests are happy. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Please contact me directly at ----------- if you have any other comments or concerns. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

stayed here for 1 night with a relative visiting town. the carpeting in the main lobby appeared a bit dirty and stained. the staff was very friendly when they greeted us. room clean, had a funny smell at first but overall not bad. beds very comfortable. breakfast good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx8310, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for taking time to leave us a review of your stay. The staff and management of The American Inn of Bethesda appreciate all guest feedback. We will be addressing our lobby/first floor flooring in the near future. Thank you again for pointing out the continental breakfast. If you have any additional comments, please contact me directly at (301) 656-9300 or americaninngm@baywoodhotels.com. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,
Dan Appolonio, CHA
General Manager
The American Inn of Bethesda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Charming small hotel close to Washington D.C. It is in a great neighborhood and there is an excellent Mexican restaurant right next door. The breakfast was great, my daughter enjoyed the pool and the rooms were clean. Only problem is that parking is somewhat limited. Would definitely come here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx8310, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Good Afternoon,
On behalf of the staff and management of The American Inn of Bethesda, I want to thank you for choosing our hotel and letting us know how we are doing! It is always great to hear from our guests and find out if we are exceeding everyone's expectations. I have shared your comments with the entire staff and we will continue to work hard to provide the service and product our guests' have come to expect. If you have any additional comments please feel free to contact me at (301) 656-9300 or email me at americaninngm@baywoodhotels.com. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Conveniently located on Wisconsin Ave. near to downtown Bethesda (10 min walk). Small facility, but extraordinarily clean and well kept. Breakfast okay, gets you started, nothing to write home about. Staff cordial. Parking free but severely limited. Price, compared with others in downtown area, right on.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

The hotel is in a good location, close enough to a range of places. The room was in a quiet place, and the bed was comfortable, so I slept well. The bathroom was large, clean and well-equipped. I was disappointed in a few things: the radio alarm clock was difficult to figure out; also, it was very dirty and sticky. The room had a somewhat musty odor. The housekeeping staff were friendly and helpful; however, the front desk staff were generally not actually at the front desk and had to be called out from a back room. Information isn't readily forthcoming...you are told there is a breakfast, but not where it is, nor are there instructions as to how to change the room temperature. The breakfast was great, good selection.
There is more that can be done to improve the guest experience without spending a lot of (or even any) money. I wouldn't return unless there wasn't a room available in another place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx8310, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Thank you for staying with The American Inn of Bethesda and sharing your thoughts. I have reviewed your comments with the front desk staff, and we will be working on providing the proper information for all guests on our amenities and services. We welcome all guest comments so that the entire staff can see how we perform and whether or not we are exceeding our guests expectations. If you have any additional comments or concerns, please contact me at (301) 656-9300 or email me at americaninngm@baywoodhotels.com. I am always eager to hear how we are doing and what we can to improve. Thank you for staying with The American Inn of Bethesda and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Daniel J. Appolonio, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Great staff, pretty clean and the service was great

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx8310, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Thank you again for staying with The American Inn of Bethesda. We love to hear from all our guests, are the entire staff takes pride in knowing that you'll be returning with us in the future. If you have any other comments or ways we can improve on our product and service please contact me directly at (301)656-9300 or email me at americaninngm@baywoodhotels.com. Thank you again and we'll see you soon!

Sincerely,

Daniel J. Appolonio, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to American Inn of Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn of Bethesda

Also Known As:
American Inn Of Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
American Inn Of Bethesda Hotel
American Hotel Bethesda
Address: 8130 Wisconsin Ave., Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — American Inn of Bethesda 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your American Inn of Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Inn of Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.