We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stop for a drink” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Barking Dog

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Barking Dog
4723 Elm St, Bethesda, MD 20814-2901
301-654-0022
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 299 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good stop for a drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Place is a good stop for a drink. It is the closest you'll find to a 'dive' bar in Bethesda. Food is typical bar food.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Different the the Bethesda norm, but meh.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is not your typical Bethesda bar. As for decor this is what an old school bar looks like, old wood bar, old wood and tile floor, that old school tavern look. Something far out-of-place then the rest of the place in Bethesda, something more that would think to see in the Fells Point section of Baltimore.

I happened to visit on a Friday, not long after working hours were over. I would have though it would have been busier. A pretty good crowd was on one side where the tables were, but their was practically no one at or around the bar.

Was greeted pretty quickly and would have to say that the bartenders were pretty friendly and engaging. The beer selection, at least draft wise, isn't to bad. Usual mix of your macro brews, but they have several craft brews on tap to balance it out, from some local brewhouses to some of the bigger ones. To my surprise they actually ran a drink special on a Friday, i say that because well you don't usually see a drink special on a Fridays as much as you used to, unless you go early and this one was an all day thing, and particularly less so in the DC area, at least that has been my experience. My drink of choice, and the special, was Red Hook ESB, which as much as a drink beer i have passed on a number of time before. And to be honest, i liked it.

I did order food while i was their. ANd the only thing i could tell you is that it was a burger and it came with fries. Can't tell you which one, but they do have several. It was cooked to order, wasn't that bad, but noting impressive, which is why i perhaps can't recall which one i had.

All in all it wasn't a bad experience. So why didn't i score it higher. Well several things. While it was a pretty warm day outside, the Barking Dog was like an ice box. Seriously AC felt like it was on full blast. I considered going back to may car to grab a hoodie.

Next the vibe, i just didn't feel it. It seemed like their should be something more to this place, but i couldn't say what. But something was missing. Perhaps it was the time of day, maybe things are different later. Or it could have been how i was feeling, didn't have that great of a day. Granted the DC vibe is a bit different then what i am used to, but still, i just didn't feel it.

Last was the price. While the drink special was good, think it was $3 for a pint, which for a DC area bar, and for a craft/micro beer (if you want to place Red Hook in that category, which some don't), that's a pretty good price. The food though, well that's another story. The burger ran almost $14 including a couple extra toppings that added to the price. Now ok, it's the DC area, yeah i figured it was gonna be a bit more pricer, the type of establishment besides the fact. What i wasn't expecting was the portion size. Pretty much a normal serving of fries. The burger however, ugh, was in between a slider and a what one would think of a regular sized burger. For $14 i would have expected not only something bigger, i mean a regular sized one would have been nice, but also something a little more impressive and less pedestrian taste wise.

Would i go back? Yeah, maybe. Perhaps things are different later in the evenigs/night or on the weekends. But you have a grab bag of establishments in walking distance and nothing really makes me say that the Barking Dog is a must go to.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Old-timey bar with good selection of draft beers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Nine of us enjoyed beers and burgers here in this dark, popular bar. The dinner menu is principally hamburgers with different accompaniments: bacon, blue cheese, cheddar cheese, barbecue sauce. Burgers appeared to use good beef and were cooked to order. Fries were good, too. A dozen interesting brews were on tap. Service was cordial. Bartender responded promptly when we complained about the taste of the stout. He agreed that it was "off" and offered a replacement. Entertainment varies with the day of the week: karioke, quiz night, etc. Good time was had by all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not bad, but ....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This used to be a favourite haunt when I lived in the area several years ago. Visited recently and there was an unpleasant toilet smell around the bar area so moved to a table on the other side of the bar. However the service was good and the barman was friendly and chatty.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Meh.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Good selection of beers on tap but the bar hygiene is somewhat lacking. It is generally boring the two or three times I went to have a beer passing by. The food I saw looked typically Chile's like, greasy bar food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barking Dog also viewed

 

Been to The Barking Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barking Dog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.