We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Pub” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Barking Dog

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Barking Dog
4723 Elm St, Bethesda, MD 20814-2901
301-654-0022
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 300 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
New York, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Basic Pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We went in here for a quick lunch and both got salads and drinks (beer and wine). It was fine. We were there after normal lunch hours so it wasn't very crowded. Service was good. Nothing special, though.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Beers and burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Great selection of beer! Burgers were perfectly seasoned and fries were fried just right! Waitstaff friendly and helpful!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great dive bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Fun place with cheap drinks and good specials. They have trivia nights and cater to a largely 20-something clientele. It's a great break from all of the "upscale" bars in the area.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good Variety of Beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Very nice atmosphere. Excellent Maryland Crab soup and a very good variety of beer on tap.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Double booked my daughters party!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We had reserved the upper room for my 13 year old daughters party (watched them pencil in on the calendar) and was told to contact the staff 60 days prior to firm up the contract. When we did, we were told that the room had been rebooked (no explaination and a quick "sorry") Our daughter was devistated !!! We finaly found a place at the last minute and everything worked out, but I will never deal with these amatures again !!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barking Dog also viewed

 

Been to The Barking Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barking Dog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.