We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good not outstanding” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Uncle Julio's

Uncle Julio's
4870 Bethesda Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814 (Formerly Rio Grande Cafe)
301-656-2981
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 309 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good not outstanding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The ceviche was outstanding but the fajitas had no sizzle. Decor is ordinary; the place has a semi-warehouse feel.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    33
    29
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“The service is lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

I have been coming to this restaurant for years. The food is still good. The service is just OK. It becomes like fast food sitting down.
Will still visit for the food.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
352 reviews 352 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Food is so-so, but the Swirl and the flan are worth a try!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This was my second visit to this restaurant, first time when it was still the Rio Grande cafe. The location is impeccable - situated on the corner of Bethesda and Arlington, there is covered outdoor seating along Bethesda Ave but my favorite spot was the glassed in area off one side of the bar facing Arlington Blvd, with high tables and chairs and spacious. My friends and I were there mainly for a drink so we just ordered guacamole, nachos, and a chicken quesadilla. There's nothing exciting about the food, although the signature drink - the Swirl - frozen Margarita layered with home-made frozen Sangria was quite interesting and definitely worth a try. For dessert, I would recommend the flan, which is better than most, good size, light and tasty. It's a good place to hang out with friends, for the ambience and fairly good service, but not for a gourmet dining experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“JUST AVERAGE MEX”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

NOT A strong menu selection. The chips and salsa are good. Margarita's are $8.50 but not so big. The beans were like Campbells. The meal itself was filling and decent. I thought it was ok for what was offered. Outside was great for people watching.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Margaritas on the deck!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We love to go there and sip on Margaritas and chow down on some great Mexican food as we sit on the deck and watch the world go by.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Julio's also viewed

 

Been to Uncle Julio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uncle Julio's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.