We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming + Great Dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Vieux Logis

Le Vieux Logis
7925 Old Georgetown Rd, Bethesda, MD 20814-2424
301-652-6816
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Vieux Logis is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 299 restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Auburn Ave.
Transit: Bethesda Metro Station (Red)
Bethesda, MD
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Charming + Great Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

On the edge of one of Bethesda's dining districts is a charmingly decorated cafe that should be on everyone's list for a special night out. The atmosphere is French country, but the cuisine is upscale French.

As an aficionado of soft shell crab, I will certify (as will my wife) that the best soft shell crab that I have ever eaten was prepared here as an appetizer. It may have been a fresh whale (the largest size softshell crab), delicately sauteed, resting on an amazing sauce, fresh slice of tomato, and a toast point of baked shortbread. Seriously! Simply amazing, and my mouth waters even as I write this! The lamb chops were the finest we've had--thick, trimmed with little fat, juicy, cooked to perfection. Vegetables were perfectly prepared and complemented the entree. Wine list is more than adequate, whether by the glass or bottle.

The restaurant reopened with new owners in 2014, owned by chef and his lovely wife who serves as the hostess and greeter. It is one of the few restaurants in Bethesda where conversation is easy--the sound level is comfortable even when full as it was on the evening we were there--and valet parking is free. Overall, it is reasonably priced for the service, quality of food, atmosphere and location.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    51
    12
    7
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Neighborhood French restaurant now in new, capable hands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We revisited this venerable and tried-and-true French restaurant after new management and chef took over. The crowded interior and hand-written checks are unchanged, but the well-trained and experienced new chef has new ideas and new menu items. I tried the quenelles a la Americaine (with lobster sauce) as a first course and found them sturdy rather than fluffy but tasty.
The main course dish of pike was delicious and perfectly cooked as were the veal medallions.The steak knife was useful for the 3 medallions, although I thought the caps of Parmesan cheese did little to enhance the flavor of the tenderloin slices. Both entrees came with stir-fried veggies, a la ratatouille plus mushrooms. There seemed to be a dearth of servers for the capacity crowd on a Saturday night, and the wait between courses and to get the bill was somewhat tedious. Luckily for the neighborhood, Le Vieux Logis remains a reliable choice for a nice dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Old School Awful - New Chef is more a Cook - Reviews Misled”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Our party of four went to this restaurant after learning of the new Chef and good reviews. The place was busy and that made us optimistic.

The staff was pleasant though not overly professional or elegant. Not well dressed or refined. But pleasant enough.

The decor is old school, old building, not quaint, just tight corners and old decorations, tables, etc... Pretty cramped; but still ok. The tables have place-cards which have liquor advertisements - and one member of our group noted the lack of class/lack of elegance, especially considering the pricing. We are fine with expensive cuisine, but we are not inclined to order bouillabaisse if the restaurant décor reminds us of bob evans.

And now the food. Yes there are many positive reviews on trip advisor. But do not be fooled. They are either wrong or reflective of the clientele being mostly elderly persons who are apparently less able to taste food as well as they did 50 years ago.

We started with some appetizers. They arrived within 30 seconds of the order being placed. Clearly, they were pre-made assembly line style. They looked it. They tasted it. The Caesar salad was processed romaine lettuce with bottled bland dressing, none of the promised anchovies and a few croutons from a box - all served too cold as if drawn from a plastic bucket in the fridge. The beet salad looked pretty but was equally bland and obviously less than fresh.

The main courses - OMG. Really bad. For any person with a refined palette, for any reasonable open-minded person, I regret to be so extreme but this was a notch above horrible. You will leave wishing you took my words to heart rather than dismissing them for the sake of being outnumbered by more positive reviews.

One member of our party ordered salmon paillard. The poached fish had absolutely no flavor and was served on a bed of oil and brownish sauce that one would be blessed never to encounter again. This was not the creation of a saucier. It was the work of a line cook hired out of whatever country on Earth is geographically the farthest linear distance from France.

One of us ordered veal medallions. Three medallions were served. Only one was tender. But that's because it was served virtually raw. Two were cooked, so what is the cook thinking or doing? The dish was sent back and soon the raw meat reappeared having been microwaved into a leather steaming hockey puck. No elegant establishment re-cooks your food via microwave and brings it back. Start over - make it right!

As for the traditional steak frittes. Well the steak was ok, but certainly inferior to even the institutional French chain restaurant nearby - though far more costly. And the fritte? Well this was not your best ami's fries. Nor were they hand cut like a certain restaurant reviewer proclaimed. Monsieur, I know fritte. These were not fritte. These were from a plastic bag - does oreida ring a bell. Just awful.

The bread was good, though nothing special. The wine list had inferior labels, but at least reasonable prices - not too marked up like some establishments.

Sadly, all four of us expected a good meal; but all of us were disappointed. And we all agreed that we would not return.

In my opinion, this is a really bad restaurant. Best of luck.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Decent but not great French restaurant in Bethesda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Based on the great trip advisor reviews, we ventured across the Potomac into Maryland to check out this French restaurant in Bethesda. It was a very good, decent restaurant--but not as great as some of these reviews led us to believe.

Service was decent, although it started just a bit slow. Also, our waitress never told us about the evening specials. We had to hear them when another waitress explained them to the table next to us. We actually ended up choosing one of those.

The escargot were excellent as was the lobster bisque--two staples of the restaurant. They were the highlight of the evening. The coquilles st. jacques themselves were perfectly prepared, but the accompanying risotto was much too sweet--had almost a fruity taste that did not match the scallops (in my opinion). The least--a special--was the soft shell crab. I felt the crust was overcooked and turned it back into an almost hard shell crab. Not a French dish, so probably forgivable (and definitely avoidable--skip it!). The people next to us had the Sole Meuniere which looked absolutely delicious. If we go back, that will be our choice.

We chose the baked Alaska for dessert and it was very good. Recommended, if available. The souffle (also at the next table) also looked very tempting.

Wine list was excellent and fairly priced.

The setting of the restaurant is only okay. Typical neighborhood restaurant, but doesn't look particularly French. Interestingly, lots of Venetian glass sculptures--almost thought it was an Italian restaurant!

Parking is limited to about six spaces with mandatory valet service, so matter where you park your car, it will be in a different place by the end of the evening.

Bottom line: decent, very good cooking but nothing really great, i.e. we never got the "wow!" factor that other reviewers seemed to get here. We enjoyed ourselves, but there are other better French restaurants in the area. We are very partial to Le Refuge in Alexandria--particularly the atmosphere. We might go back to Le Vieux Logis, but it is not a sure thing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Needs some work on service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We've been to this restaurant many times and it was always good. Read in the paper that it had been sold and the new owner was the former chef at another restaurant we frequent. The night we went we didn't have a reservation but the restaurant wasn't full and we were seated right away. Then we waited for a server to come over, never having been given a menu. the couple sitting next to us was in the same situation altho they did have drinks. Finally got menus, ordered and the food was excellent. We finished our entrees and then we waited. Waited a half hour (I looked at my watch). Couldn't get anyone's attention. Never offered dessert or coffee. Finally got someone's attention and got the check. If the place had been packed I would understand but it wasn't. They need serious work on service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Vieux Logis also viewed

 

Been to Le Vieux Logis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Vieux Logis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.