We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bethesda Crab House- inattentive service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Crab House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bethesda Crab House
4958 Bethesda Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-5204
301-652-3382
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 299 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $25 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
McLean, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Bethesda Crab House- inattentive service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Went August on a Sunday night- busy but not packed as we went early. They lost money as they didn't come around once to ask if we wanted more sides, more alcohol etc. We had to flag the wait staff down EVERY time to ask for drinks, more drinks, sides, bring crabs etc. Several times we asked for a drink, hand wipes etc and it never came and we asked again. Food was fine but was surprised at the lack of service. Maybe they have been around so long they just think people will keep coming but with all of the great seafood/crab places in MD/DC/VA/Annap/Balti, the 9 people at our table won't likely ever come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An absolute waste of money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have been eating crabs in the DC/Baltimore/Eastern shore region for decades. The Bethesda crab house used to be very good. My recent experiences have been overpriced reheated crabs. A well-prepared crab will have crab meat exposed every time you pull a claw. At $55-$90 per dozen, you expect crabs cooked to order. But you don't get them that way here.

It is funny though, you can friends of the owners somehow enjoying crabs of much higher quality than served to you. How can that be? Do they pick and choose who to serve fresh crabs to? Why not serve the same quality to everybody? Hard to explain.

Don't waste your money at this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great local crab shack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Bethesda crab house has a great atmosphere for what it is- a crab shack. The service can be extremely slow but the crabs are always great and it beats driving down near the chesapeake bay. They don't serve fries and their sides are quite pricey for such small portions- but if you are a local and want a good crab place thats nearby, this is definitely worth a trip.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Too bad there's no other choice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We had pre-reserved eighteen super size crabs, and after we sat down, they offered to serve us half of them. The first batch of crabs arrived quickly and they were rather dry, and we suspect they were leftovers from the day before. We then had to wait almost forty five minutes for the second half to arrive, although we went very early and the restaurant was almost empty. Those crabs were indeed excellent. As to service, what service? You have to hunt down your server if you want something. The prices are expensive and they charge you extra for each serving of side corn or the miniature cup of cole slaw, which are the sides for the crabs. The bathrooms are filthy and make you wish you ate elsewhere. Overall, we will probaby go back but only because we love crabs and there is no other alternative available in the area. Tip: verify with your waiter that the crabs you will be served have only just been steamed, and are not leftovers.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Maryland Crabs what else is there to say!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Crabs, cole slaw, steamed shrimp and very cold beer. All perfectly executed and the shell bucket was emptied without having to ask. Says it all. Additionally there were two celebrities eating there the day we visited.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bethesda Crab House also viewed

 

Been to Bethesda Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda Crab House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.