We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a group” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hinode

Hinode
4914 Hampden Lane, Bethesda, MD 20814
301.654.0908
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #46 of 292 restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Restaurant details
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great for a group”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I eat here every month with friends, on our way to an evening meeting. It is good enough.

Lunch buffet has plenty of choices.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    5
    8
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Best place to go with a group of friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We go dancing on the weekends often, and always get together with our friends for the Hinode buffet first. There are several reasons:
* The food is good and plentiful, and the choices range from traditional sushi to inventive rolls to cooked food to a nice selection of vegetarian dishes. Say hello to Kai, the sushi chef when you're there - he knows his stuff!
* The staff is accommodating and pleasant
* There is ample parking
* We can always get a table big enough to accommodate our group (of course, we go early to get to the dancing sooner)
* When people come late (and someone inevitably does), they don't have to wait to be served, they just jump into the buffet
* It is so easy to divide the check, as the buffet is fixed price

Highly recommended. And yes, we also go there when it's just the two of us. We like it that much.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“lots of variety in lunch buffet, good for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I have been to their lunch buffet twice now. For the price, it can't be beat. Lots of variety in sushi and rolls. Salmon and tuna are very fresh. Of course, for this price it cannot be top-shelf sushi, so the rice/fish ratio is larger than at the more expensive places. Service is friendly. Will definitely go back for lunch!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I have eaten lunch here many times. There is a lunch buffet consisting of a limited number of Chinese options, miso soup, several salads and 20 to 25 types of sushi rolls, maki and sashimi. A nice tea is included as well. The staff is very pleasant and attentive. I generally come here for the sushi and almost always eat too much. Today was different. The food tasted dry. Not sure if it was the rice or fish. I did not care for seconds. Other than the convenience to my office, there are better places in Bethesda that you won't spend any more for.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Japanese dinner at Hinode in Bethesda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I have had dinner at Hinode’s in Bethesda (there is a second Hinode about 6 miles north in Rockville) many times. The food is really good – the fish is fresh and whatever I had was well prepared. They have a weekend all-you-can-eat buffet which is a very good deal. Of course, the fish on the sushi is sliced thin and you can’t leave food on your plate and go for more. However, if you know what you like, you will can your satisfy your sushi craving and not be broke. If you order off the menu, you get good value for your money – it is not cheap (this is the Washington, DC suburbs!) I recommend Hinode restaurant for both sushi and Japanese food lovers.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hinode also viewed

 

Been to Hinode? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hinode, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.