We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved the food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haandi - CLOSED

Haandi
4904 Fairmont Ave., Bethesda, MD 20814
301-718-0121
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I loved the food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Haandi restaurant offers great Indian food. This is one of the best Indian food that I ever had. I recommend that you call ahead if you are planning on going in the evenings. The waiting can be quite long, but it is worth it. The decor is so hot, but the food yammmy! Go for it!
Haandi
4904 Fairmont Ave, Bethesda MD 20814 Hours: 11:30 am-10:00 pm (301) 718-0121

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, MD
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Haandi is now Kadhai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The restaurant has moved a block away to 7905 Norfolk Avenue, Bethesda, with a new name. Same great Indian cuisine, freshly prepared, wonderful spices and flavors, and a few new items on the menu. Service is pleasant and efficient.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
“Best local Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We love this restaurant. The food is authentic and tasty and always fresh. The naan is exceptional.
The servers are always attentive. I know the name has changed but the food remains delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Haandi's name is changed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I love this restaurant but we went to their new location last night, and they changed the name. According to an employee the owner kept a Virginia location and sold off the Bethesda, and he took the name. It's Kaldea or something. Still great food; love the salmon tandoori, and aloo gobi and lamb korma.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was quite special. My salted lassi was the best ever. Our somoza appetizers were freshly made an excellent. Garlic naan - exceptional. I had a lamb korma and my spouse had saag paneer. Both were quite good.

There was nothing on the menu that seemed terribly unique to the restaurant - all pretty standard fare - but the quality was simply the very best we have ever experienced. The service and setting is also excellent. Note, Haandi has recently moved to a new location a couple blocks away from the old.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haandi also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haandi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.