We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mussel Bar

Mussel Bar
7262 Woodmont Ave., Bethesda, MD 20814
301.215.7817
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 292 restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Elm Street
DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Overall good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

When we return it will be during the week.Our first was on a Saturday night and it became too noisy though we were on the booth side.There is a side door which should be locked because cold air kept rushing in when opened.There were a lot of children which is surprising since this really is a bar and prices are not cheap.Servers very good with great attitudes.We ordered 2 kinds of mussels,the Classic needed more flavor but Thai was quite good.These are large portions and can be a meal or shared app.Ask for bread to soak up sauces!.Lobster roll and beet salad also very good so will venture away from mussels next time and try some other entrees.Oh, one more key point...music, though hard to hear was spot on for our age (50's)Thank you!!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    30
    42
    14
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A surprisingly inventive menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

There are lots of menu options here, or you can just go with the mussels. The calamari appetizer was excellent, perfectly grilled with a very flavorful sauce reduction. We had a tasty beet salad which could have had a few more greens. We ordered two pots of mussels, the shroom and chorizo, and both potato and sweet potato fries. The chorizo flavor was almost a bit too powerful for the mussels even though offered a full balanced flavor. Great if you love chorizo. I much preferred the shroom sauce. The beer menu is equally tempting, many choices, all excellent, and also cider and wine. The menu only has the beers in bottles. Check the board for the draft beers. You may have to ask for bread for soaking up the sauces. There's a plain baguette and a multigrain - both have good flavor and a crunchy crust. Ask for a booth if you want to have a conversation. The restaurant is very popular and the room can get loud.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Definitely not gluten friendly!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Heather was our server and pointed out what was gluten free, however the food was cross contaminated and was definitely not gluten free. I became VIOLENTLY ill from eating what was claimed to gluten free mussels.
If you have serious food allergies like me, stay away from this place.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Restful and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Do not expect sophistication in style or decor, but do expect good value in an informal ambiance. I had the mussels in ham and mushroom sauce - absolutely delicious and with wonderful bread, my wife had the lobster roll and she loved it. Plenty of parking nearby.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unique and Delectable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The foodie-mecca, Bethesda, has a great addition with Mussel Bar. Unique ambiance, soft and inviting, Mussel Bar confidently strays away from the cookie cutter menu. Offering an amazing assortment of imported beer and specialty house cocktails, there is something that is sure to satisfy both those who are adventurous and those who stick to their safe drinks. They perfect the art of simplistic cooking and run with it. I've been here for brunch, dinner, and late night and have been satisfied time after time. If the menu gets you in the door then the service will make you come back again. Polite, knowledgeable and human the staff at Mussel curb the stereotypical interview style dining out experience. They have a open kitchen that is spotless and that carries all throughout the restaurant. If you're looking for a place to unwind, relax and fill up on something delicious -stop here, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mussel Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mussel Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mussel Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.