We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a great spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olazzo

Olazzo
7921 Norfolk Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-2501
301-654-9496
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 302 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Still a great spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great atmosphere, great service, great food. Nothing fancy, but if you want great pasta, this is it. Monday half price wine night makes a fun night at a low price, too. Graet appetizers and love the calmari!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    33
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good food at a reasonable price but expect tight, noisey environment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Restaurant was nearly full on a recent Thursday evening which was encouraging sign. Based on positive reviews, we gave Olazzo's a try.

Positive - Prices were reasonable. Menu is full of traditional Italian fare and some innovative takes on some dishes. Quality of food was good. Shared an appetizer and two pasta dishes plus a dessert. A few glasses of wine and we were out the door of $65.

Drawbacks - Tables are tight and noise level gets pretty high at times. Service can lag at times and follow up to see how our food/drinks were, never happened.

Okay but could have been much better executed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This restaurant is tight for seating but an awesome choice for lunch or dinner. I have eaten here many times with both work situations and dates. It is always a great meal. There are some lower carb choices too, which I really appreciate. It is hard to stay away from the bread though!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We decided to give this place a try even though we didn't have a reservation on a Saturday evening. We were seated immediately. The place was packed and the bar was hopping. We ordered the arancini (stuffed risotto balls) as an appetizer. These lightly fried balls of risotto and mozzarella were quite tasty especially when topped with the marinara sauce. I had the special of the day which was a grilled red snapper accompanied by pasta in olive oil and garlic and chunks of asparagus. My wife had the tortellini. Although it took quite some time for our entrees to appear it was well worth the wait. My red snapper was absolutely delicious. The pasta was a nice addition. I actually prefer it in oil rather than a heavy sauce. The tortellini were also fantastic. We were quite pleased with our meals and look forward to visiting here again. A nice touch in the end was a complimentary desert due to the fact that our table was so close to all of the bar activity (we didn't ask for the comp but couldn't refuse the offer). I highly recommend this restaurant and rate our meals as some of the best we have ever had.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“My latest favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I love Olazzo....the food is excellent, the staff is very pleasant, and I've been there a lot . It is my favorite place in Bethesda and is very consistent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olazzo also viewed

 

Been to Olazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olazzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.