We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to go for Italian in Bethesda” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olazzo

Olazzo
7921 Norfolk Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-2501
301-654-9496
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 300 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The only place to go for Italian in Bethesda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Love this charming little gem. Everything is great. Try the seasonal appetizer, tonight's is roasted peaches with goat cheese in balsamic vinaigrette. The lasagna can't be beat although the arancini is awesome too

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    35
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice italian meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A group of 6 for business went for dinner without a dinner reservation and were seated within 15 minutes. Very good Italian, especially my friend's torteloni (sorry for butchering the spelling). Sald Caprese was not their best but all the other food was tasty and a broad menu opion.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not the place to go for take out”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at a hospital in Bethesda over 2 nights for the birth of a child. He ran out to grab food for us and we were incredibly disappointed with the product at olazzo.

We ordered 2 portions of the chicken Parmesan which each came with a house salad, bread and we also ordered the stuffed dates. (These were absolutely delicious, but ridiculously overpriced for the 4 dates in the portion.)

The chicken Parmesan was overcooked, the pasta was mediocre but what bugged me the most was the lack of care for the to-go servicr...there was no salad dressing for the salad, no napkins, silver wear, the bread had no butter/oil and the hots were put in the same bag as the colds, meaning even the ten min from the restaurant to the hospital room made everything a Luke-warm mushy mess.

Usually the reviews on tripadvisor are accurate, but the fact that this place is ranked number 4 in Bethesda is way off the mark.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent and affordable neighborhood Italian in Bethesda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

While stopping in Bethesda overnight for business, a colleague and I strolled over from the Hyatt Regency to give Olazzo a try, having seen many favorable reviews on Trip Advisor. We loved Olazzo! The food was excellent, the prices fair, and the service personable and efficient. The kitchen was very accommodating when I wondered if the Shrimp Pesto entree could be adapted slightly to create a Shrimp Scampi with linguine, which was very, very good. Likewise, my colleague raved about the Gnocchi and was very pleased with the wine recommendation, which steered us toward an solid Chianti that was not the most expensive on the list.
The limited outdoor seating area was full when we arrived - obviously a popular spot. We sat in the bar which was fine and not too noisy. Olazzo is not "fancy" and yet I think it would work as a special occasion spot as long as you realize that the overall vibe is casual. This is really one of the best Italian places I have tried in my travels over the past few years, outside of Italy itself! Loved it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, bar atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

During a recent visit to DC, my boyfriend and I were looking for a romantic, dressy restaurant for a night out. We selected Olazzo because the website showed what looked to be a unique hole-in-the-wall style with great food, and a good atmosphere. While the food was great, the atmosphere was more like a bar than restaurant. Almost everyone in the restaurant was in jeans, and it was moderately loud. The tables were very small and could barely fit our entree dishes and wine glasses. The waitress was nice and the food came out fairly quickly, but she was slow getting to us for placing our order and bringing our wine. The prices were very reasonable, especially for the unique options offered.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olazzo also viewed

 

Been to Olazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olazzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.