We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Italian Food in Bethesda” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olazzo

Olazzo
7921 Norfolk Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-2501
301-654-9496
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 281 Restaurants in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food in Bethesda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Awesome food. Great prices. They bring fresh bread to your table and salad comes with most entrees. They also have a lot of fun drinks - different flavored martinis and mixed drinks.

The only annoying thing is that they don't take reservations. I believe they do have a call ahead list, so just remember to call before you go. I tried to go there recently on a Saturday night and there was a 35-40 minute wait.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    43
    13
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
baltimore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had dinner at Olazzo on Sat night and we had a great experience. 3 of us got there at 6:30 and we got the last table for 5 of us. The other two were delayed in traffic for awhile but the waiter and hostess didn't make us feel uncomfortable at all for waiting. We all loved our food and some of us followed other reviewers and ordered the rose sauce and it was delicious. The ravioli was the best I have ever had. I could actually taste all the cheeses in the ravioli which usually doesn't happen. We were all very happy. We had an 18% tip added on which is unusual for a party of 5 and we would have left more than 20%, but really like restaurant and will return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“One of my fav places in bethesda!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Honestly-- coming from an italian... excellent food! The meatball salad is delicious-- also their pink sauce is do die for. It is very telling when there is a restaurant without endless choices. For example, it is almost impossible to master it all. Also, when I am going out to eat at an italian restaurant-- it is nice to see a limited amount of entree choices but not resembling a diner. Olazzo also has great martinis! The space is small but worth going for the food. Service was alright.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food at a very reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were staying at a hotel in Bethesda, and we asked the desk clerk for a recommendation for a good restaurant with reasonable prices within walking distance. He suggested Olazzo. The prices there were darn good for Bethesda - entrees were in the $13 - $16 range. We ordered the Chicken Cardinale (on recommendation of the waiter) and the Chicken Parmesean. Both were very good and the portions were were big. You get a small garden salad and bread with your meal. The salad was ok, but the bread was hot and delicious (and they provide a dip of olive oil and balsamic vinegar for the bread). The atmosphere was very comfortable. We left full and content with our eating experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
120 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Not that great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Ambiance is alright. Food is alright. There are so many other great places in Bethesda, make this #30.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olazzo also viewed

 

Been to Olazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olazzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.