We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food right in your neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Persimmon

Persimmon
7003 Wisconsin Ave., Bethesda, MD 20815
301-654-9860
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Persimmon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #78 of 286 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Leland & Walsh Sts.
Transit: Bethesda Metro on Red Line
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great food right in your neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I was treated to a special dinner here for my birthday. There were 9 ladies, and each one of us was treated like a princess, with fantastic service, super friendly staff, and great food. We all tasted one another's entrees and apps, and everything was over the top delish. There placed was packed but that did not impact service one bit. Two weeks later two of us returned to enjoy the food again, and we were not disappointed. The salads are bountiful and fresh, the soup of the day was great, and the crab cakes and burgers are really out of this world. A nice touch is that the staff checked on us in a friendly but not annoying way. They do not charge for substitutions (spinach instead of fries please). All in all I think this is a gem and it's now on my go-to list for sure. Convenient parking lot right behind the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    26
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Really Good Fare In Bethesda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We went with some friends to Persimmon, our first visit. This is a small restaurant with white walls and a huge skylight. It seems to have a relatively-large staff for the number of tables.

I had a wonderful empanada, and then the jumbo lump crab cake with bacon mashed potatoes, roasted corn hash and sweet corn sauce. For dessert we shared profiteroles. My wife had a beautifully prepared and plated lamb.

I like a "lumpier" crab cake but the one served was certainly good.

Other reviewers had mixed feelings about Persimmon, some liked it a lot, some didn't. We had a terrific dinner and thought the chef was really talented. The bill was about $50 a head with two shared starters, a shared dessert, dinners and a bottle of wine.

I think you can have a great dinner at Persimmon and will go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yummy mussels and lots of other things too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We always enjoy Persimmon! The happy-hour is fun and going for the regular menu is a real treat. The mussels are always good. And the fried oysters are delicious. Actually, just about everything is tasty!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another place living off an old reputation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Persimmon used to be a really nice place for a quiet dinner with good food. Unfortunately that's no longer true. The last two times I've been there the service was either rushed (at dinner) or very slow (lunch). Food is OK, but the prices don't really warrant the total package.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This is a keeper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I took my grandchildren for an early dinner. Food was wonderful, service was great. The kids gave it thumb's up so we will be back. It is a hidden gem if you do not live in the neighborhood.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Persimmon also viewed

 

Been to Persimmon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Persimmon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.