We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food a Bit Overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Persimmon

Persimmon
7003 Wisconsin Ave., Bethesda, MD 20815
301-654-9860
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Persimmon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #79 of 288 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Leland & Walsh Sts.
Transit: Bethesda Metro on Red Line
Bethesda MD
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Food a Bit Overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was my first visit here, but my co diner had been prior to the redo and had the same sentiments many on here did, it looks the same. I had the crab cakes which were served in a very tasy sauce. It as served with bacon mashed potatoes. However, I did not find them to be very tasty at all. My friend had the steak which was good. Our entrees were $26 and $28 which were a little pricey in my opinion even for Bethesda. We had the chocolate martini pie for dessert which I did not love, its not actually a pie, its just some mousse in a cup with pie crumbs. When we first arrived no one greeted us and when we said we did not have reservations we were looked at odd, but there were at least 10 open tables. The place is quite small. The waiter did not come back very often and just overall did not seem friendly. I saw the chef and owner talking to other people in the place but they never came over to us. It almost felt like a place where regulars received special treatment. I will return though just not that often due to the price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    26
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“From Alexandria to Bethesda just to eat their glorious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had lunch yesterday. It is Bethesda-Chevy Restaurant Week and like their food so much that we ordered the dinner menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“After Changes Remains Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We went to Persimmon somewhat regularly before they made their menu and interior changes. Don't quite understand why it took so long for the modest changes to be made (unless there were major kitchen changes that we couldn't see). There were still some of our favorites on the menu - especially crab cakes and the menu has been expanded to include sandwiches, burgers and tacos. So more choices from full dinners to lighter fare. The gazpacho was delicious. We had the lamb and the short ribs. Both excellent. The short ribs portion was so large I had enough for two sandwiches at home the next day. In short, Persimmon has changed (no more white tablecloths) but the quality of the food and service has remained very high.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Birthday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Took my child there for lunch. We were hungry. The rockfish special entree was superb. HOT and right off the grill. Really wonderful.

My steak only mediocre. Green beans and spinach were cooked perfectly. My only concern: there were flies in the dining room which means there are flies in the kitchen. Ick. Will return but seems like this establishment needs a better fly management system. I ordered gazpacho and it was great---not fabulous but pretty darn good. I am sure he used his fingers to wipe my spoon. Double ick. I didn't really care about the cost--however this lunch was a tad expensive. This is my first visit there. Probably will return again

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Not Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I must admit, we went there for the lobster rolls which are excellent, but they dropped that from their menu. The food was very good, the service somewhat slow. Sometimes we had to ask for things already requested. All n all, it was a bit over-priced when considering comparable restaurants in the DC/Bethesda area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Persimmon also viewed

 

Been to Persimmon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Persimmon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.