We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frequent patron” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tako Grill

Tako Grill
7756 Wisconsin Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-3522
301-652-7030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 296 restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $22 - $35
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Cheltenham Dr.
Transit: Bethesda Metro Station
Description: Tako Grill is a Japanese restaurant serving classic Japanese dishes and very fresh and exquisite sushi. It started as a partnership between two Japanese chefs opening up a Sushi take out restaurant named Kanpai in 1986 at Glen Echo in Bethesda and continues its business today. Two years later, they opened up a restaurant naming it Tako Grill Japanese Restaurant and at that time, it could only hold a maximum capacity of 50 people. Tako Grill then expanded in 1996 and once more in 2001 adding our Sake Bar which is a great environment and size for larger parties to enjoy the food and atmosphere. Now Tako Grill is a great place for friends and families to enjoy each other"s presence and delight in wonderful traditional Japanese cuisine. Tako Grill is Japanese owned and serves authentic Japanese dishes. We also associate with Japanese Sushi Society and Japan Sushi Federation, bringing in chefs from Japan where they teach the sushi chefs at Tako Grill.
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Frequent patron”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a good place to grab some sushi in Bethesda, MD. I go as often as I can when visiting a friend that lives a few blocks away. My favorite is the pricey Lobster Roll, but its a fairly big roll. They haven't had the King Salmon dish lately which is disappointing because it was good. I haven't been disappointed in taste yet. Service can sometimes be slow but they are very nice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    19
    16
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“More than sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I'm surprised that no one mentions the robataya (japanese grill) menu, which to me me is the specialty of this restaurant. Although the grill is not visible as it would be in a Japanese style robataya, the dihes are varied and correctly made. I've been coming here whenever I visit the area for about 15 years and the quality has always been good. On my recent visit they also had an Izakaya (pub style, Japanese tapas) menu with many interesting and delicious choices. Good points for service as well. I made some complicated requests and all went as desired.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Lives up to Expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great place for sushi.... I'd give it 5/5, but our waitress kept disappearing.... and when you over indulge in wasabi paste you really need some rice, water or beer to sooth the palate.

Went for date night.

Doesn't look like much from the street, and the fact that it's ON Wisconsin Blvd., wasn't really appealing. Read some TA reviews and decided to make a reservation. Most nights don't need reservations. We went on a Saturday night at 8:30 and it was pretty slow - which was actually nice.

Sushi ala carta is a bit expensive - $3.00 - $6.00 PER piece. Most places I've been those are the prices per 2. So we both opted for the Sushi platters - better options and better prices. Lots of traditional Japanese dishes - minus Okonomiaki (Japanese pancake)

Hot house Saki - was HOT, but yummy.

I ordered the Sushi & Sashimi - which was great --- except Roe sushi is definitely an acquired taste. My wife ordered the Chirashi - which was basically do it yourself sushi.... rice bowl with sashimi on top. Both served with miso soup and a bean sprout salad.

Their Japanese beer selection is by far the best in the area -- they have more than just Kirin, Sopporo and Asahi - but I won't give away the entire list. You'll have to check that out for yourself.

The 411:
- Parking: Street or paid parking lots
- Food: Delicious
- Drinks: Beer was served COLD
- Service: Friendly, but could have been a bit more attentive.
- Ambiance: Romantic. Relaxing.
- Bathrooms: Clean

- Extras: Main bar area separate from restaurant. Seats on the main road w/ large window. Good for people watching.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just O.K sushi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Prices were good, service was fast and good, restaurant looked clean but the sushi is mediocre. I look for the raw rolls and these were not impressive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“More than your average sushi place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We've held several private parties here. The food choices are diverse and tasty; expansive drinks menu. Try the Japanese whiskys! Waitstaff kept the food and beverages coming and accommodated requests. Great lunch spot, too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tako Grill also viewed

Been to Tako Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tako Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.