We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi and great prices for Bethesda” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tako Grill

Tako Grill
7756 Wisconsin Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-3522
301-652-7030
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #39 of 292 restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $22 - $35
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Cheltenham Dr.
Transit: Bethesda Metro Station
Description: Tako Grill is a Japanese restaurant serving classic Japanese dishes and very fresh and exquisite sushi. It started as a partnership between two Japanese chefs opening up a Sushi take out restaurant named Kanpai in 1986 at Glen Echo in Bethesda and continues its business today. Two years later, they opened up a restaurant naming it Tako Grill Japanese Restaurant and at that time, it could only hold a maximum capacity of 50 people. Tako Grill then expanded in 1996 and once more in 2001 adding our Sake Bar which is a great environment and size for larger parties to enjoy the food and atmosphere. Now Tako Grill is a great place for friends and families to enjoy each other"s presence and delight in wonderful traditional Japanese cuisine. Tako Grill is Japanese owned and serves authentic Japanese dishes. We also associate with Japanese Sushi Society and Japan Sushi Federation, bringing in chefs from Japan where they teach the sushi chefs at Tako Grill.
USA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great Sushi and great prices for Bethesda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The sushi is outstanding and fresh as it should be. The service is prompt, attentive and while there may be a little bit of a language problem, it is more than overcome by the friendliness. The value is outstanding for the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    19
    15
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
LITTLE ROCK
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great place for sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place is great for sushi. The menu is extensive and the service is good. The quality of the fish is outstanding. I have been there many times, always for lunch, and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Everything done right...start to finish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We went based on the recommendation of an acquaintance..so glad we did! The service was excellent without hovering. The waitress offered good suggestions when asked. And the food was great: tempura, sushi, and entrees. The mushroom tempura and shrimp & avocado roll were our favs. We will be back!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were in town to visit our son at University of Maryland. We went on a Saturday night it wasn't too crowded but we were pleasantly surprised that it was very good. We had 2 specials fatty tuna was very tasty and a nice presentation and the red snapper jaw was very good and tender as well. Our server was very sweet and explained everything to us. The sushi was fresh and delicious. When we come back to visit we will be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Come here for great sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We love sushi. Though we live in DC we come up to Bethesda to eat at Tako Grill for some good sushi quite regularly. Their avocado rolls are so creamy and fresh. We also enjoy their spicy tuna rolls - no mayo! Finally we tend to order their fresh green salad with ginger dressing, which is a little too sweet for our taste but pretty good. Overall it's one of our favorite sushi places in and near DC.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tako Grill also viewed

 

Been to Tako Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tako Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.