We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, challenging location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Original Pancake House

The Original Pancake House
7700 Wisconsin Ave, Ste D, Bethesda, MD 20814-6504
301-986-0285
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 300 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food, challenging location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Was in town on business and went here strictly from the TripAdvisor Reviews. Good food but I did not find the right parking, which meant I could not get my ticket validated. The restaurant is not visible from the street but I had Google Street viewed it and had an idea where to find it. It even has a street view of inside the restaurant. So, if you can find the correct parking and get here, here's the rest of the story.
The food was great. Super tasty pancakes and hash browns. I got a little of everything (eggs, sausage, oj, fruit), it was all good. I did not have much time and they accommodated quick service. Overall Great food, reasonable price (not cheap, not expensive), challenging to find fro an out of towner (specifically the parking).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    21
    13
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast Option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

I love the Pancake House for its excellent eggs and (especially) thick-cut bacon. Spouse is less enamored than I, but it is one of the better places in Bethesda for breakfast. Portions are large, value is good, service is prompt and no-nonsense, atmosphere is average. It can be crowded on weekend mornings-- deservedly so.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wish there was one in my city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I ate there twice while in Bethesda and enjoyed it both times. There is a wide selection of food, though I loved the pumpkin pancakes and the mango crepes the best. They also have tasty freshly squeezed orange juice.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Old time charm.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I met friends here for breakfast this morning, and it was delicious. It has a sort of retro feel. Our waitress was very attentive and the food was delicious. I ordered the apple pancake and it was Huge and yummy. I felt it was a little pricey (10.75), but it is Bethesda, so that is to be expected. A word of warning. It was a little hard to find because it faces a pedestrian area. Also, you can get free validated parking in the parking garage under the shopping plaza.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Lakes, New Jersey
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were a party of four at The Original Pancake House. It was crowded, so there was a wait, but we were seated within the time they indicated. The service was very good. The atmosphere was comfortable, but the noise level was very annoying at times.

We enjoyed the:

Dutch Baby - A German Pancake oven baked, served with whipped butter, lemon and powdered sugar - Excellent

Cherry Kijafa Crepes - three delicate crepes filled and topped with Montmorency cherries simmered in kajata sauce and lightly dusted with powdered sugar - Excellent

Coconut Pancakes - filled and topped with toasted coconut lightly dusted with powdered sugar served with whipped butter and tropical syrup - Very Good

Seasonal Pumpkin Pancakes - Very Good

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Pancake House also viewed

 
Bethesda, MD
Bethesda, MD
 

Been to The Original Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Original Pancake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;