We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It ain't Texas, but not bad for Maryland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Times Cafe

Hard Times Cafe
4920 Del Ray Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-2512
301-951-9652
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #140 of 292 restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Mexican
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“It ain't Texas, but not bad for Maryland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The five-way veggie chili-mac is real comfort food. Goes great with a pitcher of beer! Fine place to chill with friends.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    3
    9
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Slow, steady, disappointing decline”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We're done. The last 3 visits have featured sticky table-tops and bland, lukewarm chili. I'd rather stay home and make my own. It's too bad, because I remember what Hard Times once was.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The "Cheers" Bar and Restaurant of Bethesda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The wings are great. The chili, specially the 5 way, is plentiful and tasty. The Beer is cold and icy, a treat for those of us who like it cold. The staff remembers repeat customers and treat you like the favorite side of family. A great family atmosphere especially with kids. Good prices too!
Great week day specials too on the price of food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, MD
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't Let One Bad Experience Guide You”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

After reading the review of the dripping water and burnt grilled cheese I can see why some would not bother with this restaurant. First off I don't blame that reviewer for the poor review. But that was one family and one time.

Since I moved my office to Bethesda I've become somewhat of a regular at many of the downtown restaurants. Hard Times is in my rotation and is one place I go to more often than many of the others. After visiting there over 15 times I can say that this is a good spot. Their salads are great, as are the burgers (discounted on Mondays). Try the root beer on tap, it's really really good.

For a moderately priced meal out this is one of the better places in Bethesda.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa, Japan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chili...even for a vegitarian!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Fun place for a good lunch. They had a large enough selection to other a vegitarian chili & a veggie burger.....awesome veggie chili cheese burger!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hard Times Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hard Times Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Times Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.