We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It ain't Texas, but not bad for Maryland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Times Cafe

Hard Times Cafe
4920 Del Ray Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-2512
301-951-9652
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #164 of 288 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, American
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“It ain't Texas, but not bad for Maryland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The five-way veggie chili-mac is real comfort food. Goes great with a pitcher of beer! Fine place to chill with friends.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
98 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Slow, steady, disappointing decline”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We're done. The last 3 visits have featured sticky table-tops and bland, lukewarm chili. I'd rather stay home and make my own. It's too bad, because I remember what Hard Times once was.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The "Cheers" Bar and Restaurant of Bethesda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The wings are great. The chili, specially the 5 way, is plentiful and tasty. The Beer is cold and icy, a treat for those of us who like it cold. The staff remembers repeat customers and treat you like the favorite side of family. A great family atmosphere especially with kids. Good prices too!
Great week day specials too on the price of food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, MD
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't Let One Bad Experience Guide You”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

After reading the review of the dripping water and burnt grilled cheese I can see why some would not bother with this restaurant. First off I don't blame that reviewer for the poor review. But that was one family and one time.

Since I moved my office to Bethesda I've become somewhat of a regular at many of the downtown restaurants. Hard Times is in my rotation and is one place I go to more often than many of the others. After visiting there over 15 times I can say that this is a good spot. Their salads are great, as are the burgers (discounted on Mondays). Try the root beer on tap, it's really really good.

For a moderately priced meal out this is one of the better places in Bethesda.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa, Japan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chili...even for a vegitarian!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Fun place for a good lunch. They had a large enough selection to other a vegitarian chili & a veggie burger.....awesome veggie chili cheese burger!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hard Times Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hard Times Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Times Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.