We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It ain't Texas, but not bad for Maryland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Times Cafe

Hard Times Cafe
4920 Del Ray Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-2512
301-951-9652
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #161 of 309 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, American
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“It ain't Texas, but not bad for Maryland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The five-way veggie chili-mac is real comfort food. Goes great with a pitcher of beer! Fine place to chill with friends.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Slow, steady, disappointing decline”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We're done. The last 3 visits have featured sticky table-tops and bland, lukewarm chili. I'd rather stay home and make my own. It's too bad, because I remember what Hard Times once was.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The "Cheers" Bar and Restaurant of Bethesda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The wings are great. The chili, specially the 5 way, is plentiful and tasty. The Beer is cold and icy, a treat for those of us who like it cold. The staff remembers repeat customers and treat you like the favorite side of family. A great family atmosphere especially with kids. Good prices too!
Great week day specials too on the price of food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, MD
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't Let One Bad Experience Guide You”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

After reading the review of the dripping water and burnt grilled cheese I can see why some would not bother with this restaurant. First off I don't blame that reviewer for the poor review. But that was one family and one time.

Since I moved my office to Bethesda I've become somewhat of a regular at many of the downtown restaurants. Hard Times is in my rotation and is one place I go to more often than many of the others. After visiting there over 15 times I can say that this is a good spot. Their salads are great, as are the burgers (discounted on Mondays). Try the root beer on tap, it's really really good.

For a moderately priced meal out this is one of the better places in Bethesda.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa, Japan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Chili...even for a vegitarian!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Fun place for a good lunch. They had a large enough selection to other a vegitarian chili & a veggie burger.....awesome veggie chili cheese burger!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hard Times Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hard Times Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Times Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.