We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub food, reasonable prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hamburger Hamlet - CLOSED

Hamburger Hamlet
10400 Old Georgetown Road (Democracy Boulevard), Georgetown Square, Bethesda, MD 20814
301 897 5350
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bakery, Hamburgers, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Racine, WI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good pub food, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We happened to see this restaurant in a strip mall. We were seated immediately, even though it was a busy Friday night. The hamburgers were very good, and the waitress was attentive. Prices were very reasonable. We also enjoyed their bakery items for dessert. We recommend the southern pecan pie.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

24% Recommend
    3
    9
    14
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyattsville, Maryland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“OK, not as good as I remember”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Average burgers and wings. Service was pleasant. Won't make the drive again anytime soon. Annoying bug kept flying around our table.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Polk, Louisiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I used to eat here all the time as a child. My mother and I would stop here after a day of shopping at Montgomery Mall. This was before Sutton Place Gourmet/Balducci's opened. Anyway, back then it was a fun, lively place that had the best burgers and sandwiches. I decided to take a trip down memory lane and take my son there for lunch after doing some shopping. I should of just taken him to Cheesecake Factory or Pf changs, it prob would have been cheaper. This place was NOTHING like HH of the past. The food was overpriced. The burgers were odd tasting, dry, and small. The drinks were outrageously expensive. The best thing was our server who was nice and attentive. I was so disappointed. My son had saw the Chipotle next door and had wanted to go and I insisted we go here. I should of listened. I just don't see how this restaurant is still opened when there are so many good restaurants in the area with those prices and much better food. I will never go there again and I recommend no one else go unless its 2am and u absolutely need to eat at a restaurant.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Oh, how far we have fallen !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

When I was a kid my family loved Hamburger Hamlet, so I gave it two last tries before I wrote this. Everything we tried was terrible. The hamburgers are tasteless, unseasoned and not fresh, The chicken was clearly cut and refrigerated for several days. All of our favorites have been taken off the menu and replaced with easy to cook crud. Even the pies tasted thawed out and processed. I am sad to see this old friend go downhill so drastically. I will not be back !

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Under new management.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Or maybe Hamburger Hamlet merged with a bakery, but the 24 hour concept is not working. You could say I grew up going to Hamburger Hamlet with family and friends for years, but after the meal I had last Tuesday I won't be going there again. I'll head down the street to the Cheesecake Factory. The hamburger is not beef alone. Or at least it tasted like they got creative with the mixing different meat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamburger Hamlet also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamburger Hamlet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.