We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Tomato CLOSED” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Tomato Cafe

Red Tomato Cafe
4910 Saint Elmo Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-6008
301-652-4499
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 297 restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $30 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Merry Land
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Red Tomato CLOSED”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stopped by this great restaurant tonight, where I've been eating for almost 20 years, only to find a sign on the door that said the restaurant was closed for good due to structural damage. They're putting up a hi-rise apartment next door that has damaged several of the surrounding buildings, and this one is just the latest. A pity: the best pizza in the area.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    11
    10
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Best Pizza in DC Metro Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Pizza is among the best. Yes, yes, I know all about the 2 Amys and Paradiso, but the pizza here is better minus the hype or the wait. Don't really care if the pizza is certified by some dudes in Italy, only that it tastes good. The two best are smoky and chicken/pesto, but they are all pretty good. Prices are very reasonable, decent wine by the glass, service is very friendly and it is a cosy and romatic place.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great times!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I needed to adjust my NYE plans at the 11th hour and they were very gracious in accommodating our boisterous group. Not only were the food offerings delicious and appealing, the service was excellent and friendly. I found Red Tomato to be an understated neighborhood gem. Great times!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Upscale Pizza Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The food is excellent, the pizzas are creative and delicious, and the service is very good. Cozy atmosphere.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good for pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We love there pizza here and it is pretty much all we eat when we dine at Red Tomato. The rest of the choices are somewhat limited. But the atmosphere is good and it is a cute place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Tomato Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Tomato Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.