We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didnt try the pizza...pasta was just ehhh.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ledo Pizza

Ledo Pizza
5245 River Rd, Bethesda, MD 20816-1415
301-656-5336
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #94 of 292 restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Washington DC
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Didnt try the pizza...pasta was just ehhh.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The noodles were undercooked and the sauce wasnt as great as they make it sound on the menu...it tasted like it came from a can. And the "olive oil" on the counter tased like vegetable oil which is a world apart for health-minded eaters. The window advertising sucks you in "best in the area" and perhaps the pizza is that good. The pasta and sandwiches are not that good. Service was polite unlike some of the other reviewers experience so maybe they took a whack at fixing that.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

52% Recommend
    6
    3
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Original Pizza base and tasty toppings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

There is something about the square base and crusty corners which makes Ledo's pizza stand out amongst -- and potentially above -- other take outs. It's neither thin or deep baked and is better compared to a buttery pastry than to a fluffy dough. I am curious to the secret ingredient -- but maybe it's better not to know!

We took the Italian sausage; the distinctive base is loaded with chunks of tasty sausage in generous proportion to the tomato and cheese toppings. One to try if you're in the area!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food great! Service horrible & staff RUDE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I had been recommended to try. The pizza was delicious. The service was slow, I had to ask for drink refills multiple times & even had to go to the counter requesting refills. The waiter was very RUDE. I will not go to this locations again.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow, Alaska
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Passable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Ledo Pizza is in a convenient location. The subs and pizza are okay. Not bad. Not particularly good. But okay. The people who work there are friendly. Sometimes service is attentive. Sometimes not. Today it was not.

Birds hop on the outside tables even when customers are seated there. I would not eat my meal from a table wild birds have walked all over. Today and other times at Ledo Pizza, I have seen birds peck at food on plates while people are still eating from them. Some people may think that is cute. I believe it is an invitation to avian-borne food contamination.

Driving and vehicle parking can be a trial in the lot Ledo Pizza shares with other businesses in the shopping center, particularly mid day.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“People seem to either really like or dislike the pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Personally I really like their pizza, with plenty of flavor, especially precooked bacon and green olives. The precooked chicken is also very nice

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ledo Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Ledo Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ledo Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.