We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe

La Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe
7607 Old Georgetown Rd., Bethesda, MD 20814
301 215 9142
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 305 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has many locations - ate at this one while staying at a local hotel. I love their food (of course it is a little more than McDonalds but then they have a much better choice of menu). Pastries are wonderful, soups and salads are excellent and atmosphere is warm and inviting. Staff was friendly although I'm sometimes confused by what portion of the meal is ordered at which point in the line. They helped me through it and brought some ordered items to our table so all was well. Great meal! (Try the tomato basil soup with crispy onion fries)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    30
    14
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Warm place to spend a relaxed meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

la Madeleine is a quaint French Country Kitchen with yummy soups and sandwiches and other French foods like quiches and croissants. They have a pleasant staff willing to help with your selection. The decor is constructed of wood, lighting is low and the noise level also low, nice for a conversation. They also have outdoor seating. They are opening on in Silver Spring, Md and I await this with great anticipation.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis Metro
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just ok”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

It certainly had a nice variety of food which was average quality, but the staff were generally rude or dismissive. The flow of the location itself is difficult to understand, and the cashier didn't say a word to me. No total given, nothing. We had to find some things on our own...like the drink cups we paid for. There was one young gentleman who was very helpful, which was refreshing after the seriously shaky start.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Il est merveilleux”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The food is very good, and the pastries are the best! Grab a goody and wander to the back for a seat by the fireplace. The lemon white chocolate cookie is yummy.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Tried for breakfast while staying in Bethesda. Excellent fresh food, you could tell they take their time, using the best ingredients. Kind of weird set up - take out bakery is to the left when you walk in, cafeteria-style to the right. You order items off the menu by walking up to the cashier at the end of the cafeteria galley. They give you a number and then bring the food to your table. Atmosphere is very unique, almost wonder if they shipped it in from France and re-assembled (doesn't match the modern Bethesda cityscape). Reasonable prices.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to La Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.