We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe

La Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe
7607 Old Georgetown Rd., Bethesda, MD 20814
301 215 9142
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 299 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: French
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I love breakfast and this place is great for a quick, reasonably priced breakfast that is beyond the usual suspects (Panera, Au Bon Pain, Cosi).

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    29
    14
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
1,615 reviews 1,615 reviews
533 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 453 cities Reviews in 453 cities
1,522 helpful votes 1,522 helpful votes
“Tasty choices at this self serve French cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We try to visit this small chain of cafes when we are in the DC area because of the great choices of very good soups, sandwiches, salads, pastries. This one in the heart of Bethesda has a small free parking lot and free parking at a local garage. We had excellent tomato bisque soup and a large croque monsieur with pasta salad--a filling lunch. There are also breakfast items and platters. Free refills on soft drinks and unlimited tasty breads.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Delightful French cafe for any time of day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I love the soup-salad-quiche or sandwich combinations you can order at La Madeleine. The food is superb and is an excellent value. We also went there for dessert one night. Besides their normal portioned desserts there are mini-desserts that are just the right size if you want a few bites of something scrumptious but don't want to overindulge. I haven't yet made it there for breakfast, but I am sure it will be awesome when I do.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kankakee, Illinois
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Adored this little charming cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

CUTE place full of real French people; very charming and welcoming. Delicious French menu. This is an open kitchen counter service concept. The inside decor makes you feel like you are really in some cozy ancient home somewhere in the French countryside. LOVED IT.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“The best bread in Bethesda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at the Bethesda Hyatt and we discovered La Madeleine just two blocks away, tasty bread and yogurts, sweet treats and juices. Its a great place to have breakfast so we visited everyday and we loved it.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to La Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.