We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous breakfast !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe

La Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe
7607 Old Georgetown Rd., Bethesda, MD 20814
301 215 9142
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 299 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: French
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Troon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Tremendous breakfast !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Ate here whilst staying in Bethesda.

Helpful staff even tho' it is ,largely, self service.

SUPERB yoghurt with fruit etc, fresh bakery items too....and the OJ was wonderful !

Worth a visit for a quick bite or coffee - recomended

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    29
    14
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Had to grab something to eat while on my way to an appointment in Washington D. C. and this was close to the train station in Bethesda so we went in. I think I have been to the one in Rockville years ago and my children and their friends go to both places.

The line was long but it moved real fast. There was a staff on hand to help people with the menu and your order before you got to where your order is taken, this really sped things up. We ordered paella and a tomato & cheese sandwich which had a very delicious pesto sauce on it. The soft bread for the sandwich was fresh and baked just right. We had a seat and in a few minutes our order was brought to our table. Get an oatmeal cookie very delicious as well. Portion size is appropriate for lunch for an individual. The paella came with generous amount of chicken and shrimp.

The inside seating area is nice and there is outdoor seating as well. Very nice place, I loved it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Best bang for your money. Awesome food. Service was great esp for first time visitors. Loved the mini desserts as well

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“take out bakery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very good pastries (and sweets)for a quick breakfast - (we did to-go orders - so do not know about service).

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“French cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Although this is a chain restaurant, the food and the service were both very good. Their pastries/desserts were my favorite and are comparable to authentic French pastries (was in Paris last summer). The prices are also great for the Washington DC area

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to La Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.