We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Authentic Indian Food I've had” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Passage to India Restaurant

Passage to India Restaurant
4931 Cordell Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-2508
301-656-3373
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Passage to India Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 299 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Old Georgetown Road (Route 187)
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the Best Authentic Indian Food I've had”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went to Passage for the 3rd time, food is always good and consistent, staff are nice and attentive..We didn't have our reservation so we had to wait for at least 25 mins. But it's all worth the wait :) Lesson learned esp on a Saturday night...Highly recommended :)

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Limited Menu - Flavors Just Okay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We visited this restaurant to celebrate a birthday and were disappointed with the pretty limited menu and the flavors of the food we ordered. The portions were a bit small, too. I understand the desire to have regional cuisine from the four quadrants of India, but the lack of depth in the menu and the seeming repetitive flavors in the four dishes we ordered left me disappointed with the restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
“Very good Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Interesting menu - broken down by cuisines of different regions of India. Fun to know. The crab dish I ordered was exquisite. Since I was dining alone, I ordered off the appetizer menu - a nice way to sample more than one dish. The apple and yam dish was a little too strongly spiced for my tastes (but I ate it anyway). I think it's a matter of preference. The music was very subtle and not overpowering or loud, which I appreciated. I'd like to go again just to try out some of those other enticing menu items.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Unusual and authentic Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This is a very nice Indian restaurant with some unusual dishes in addition to the more typical North Indian tandoori and curries. Their menu is divided into North, East, South and West Indian courses. Unlike a lot of Indian restaurants, their dishes have a lot of texture to them. The goat curry and the baigan (egg plant curry) were both very good, albeit a little on the bland side for my palate. It's not the cheapest Indian you can get, but overall it's well worth a visit. I will probably go again next time I'm in the Bethesda area.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Sample the regional cuisines of India in Bethesda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012 via mobile

This is a really nice Indian restaurant with a lot of dishes that I have not seen elsewhere. The chutney ni murgi - chicken in spicy cilantro sauce - is highly recommended. Dinner is quite pricey, but the lunch menu is very reasonably priced.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Passage to India Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Passage to India Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Passage to India Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.