We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual and authentic Indian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Passage to India Restaurant

Passage to India Restaurant
4931 Cordell Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-2508
301-656-3373
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Passage to India Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 286 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Old Georgetown Road (Route 187)
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
128 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Unusual and authentic Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This is a very nice Indian restaurant with some unusual dishes in addition to the more typical North Indian tandoori and curries. Their menu is divided into North, East, South and West Indian courses. Unlike a lot of Indian restaurants, their dishes have a lot of texture to them. The goat curry and the baigan (egg plant curry) were both very good, albeit a little on the bland side for my palate. It's not the cheapest Indian you can get, but overall it's well worth a visit. I will probably go again next time I'm in the Bethesda area.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Sample the regional cuisines of India in Bethesda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

This is a really nice Indian restaurant with a lot of dishes that I have not seen elsewhere. The chutney ni murgi - chicken in spicy cilantro sauce - is highly recommended. Dinner is quite pricey, but the lunch menu is very reasonably priced.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Passage to India is great for interesting regional cuisines from India. I have learnt with experience to go easy on the currys (too much cream for my taste) and focus on the dry roasted Tandoori meat. Is not trying to be the cheapest, but we found it very good value if you order carefully.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best in Bethesda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

One of the best Indian restaurants in Maryland. I have been in Montgomery County for 15 years and this is consistenly one of the best. Food is very very good and service is good. Menu is not the usual Indian restaurant menu; some very good but rare items are to be found. Have been here mostly with business partners.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“delicious indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

the tastiest indian food in bethesda. decor, service, food all colorful and charming

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Passage to India Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Passage to India Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Passage to India Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.