We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food..Long wait” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bacchus

Bacchus
7945 Norfolk Ave., Bethesda, MD 20814
301-657-1722
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 301 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chevy Chase, Maryland
1 review
“Good food..Long wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Went for a family birthday celebration. They ushered us into a private,very attractive small room which we liked.
. However, we had a very long wait to be served. The waiter apologized and said one of the waiters was sick.Once he paid attention to us, the food was delivered to us in a timely fashion and they gave us free dessert to make up for the wait.
Their list of appetizers is extensive and delicious. We made a meal of just appetizers and we loved it.
I would go again but insist on better service.
The value for the food was fair but drinks were on the expensive side.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    22
    17
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I had the opportunity of dining at Bacchus twice last week. The first time on Monday night with just 4 of us and the second time on Saturday night with a party of 8. Both times we had an excellent experience. The food and service both times was excellent and helped make our stay in the Bethesda area even better.
We tried to choose a favorite dish but enjoyed them all. Both of our servers were very friendly and knowledgeable. We would definitely return when next in the Bethesda area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Lebanese food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Good Lebanese food! I had the stuffed grape leaves - very yummy. My service was fantastiic! Ya - I'm a fan.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Best Lebanese food ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Have been in DC for four days - this is the best meal yet. Bacchus calamari - excellent - fresh with a wonderful butter sauce. Salad and fish kabob appetizer also very good. I thoroughly enjoyed the Fattet Makdous - exceptional. This entree has a combination of pomegranate seeds, eggplant, ground beef, yogurt, pine nuts, garlic and crunchy flat bread. A very wise choice on my part - absolutely superb.

Pleasant outdoor seating. Great service as well.

I am hesitant to rave on about a place, but this was really quite excellent

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast USA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Agree with prior review.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Food is very good if you're in the mood for something mildly exotic. Unfortunately the service does not live up. On our prior visit a couple of months ago, the server was excellent. Last night It was mediocre at best. Common thread?? On the prior visit the dining room was empty. Yesterday (Friday) evening it was about 75 pct full. Moral of the story,,, be in the mood for exotic food on a Sun - Thu evening,,, suggest to avoid peak times!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacchus also viewed

 

Been to Bacchus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bacchus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.