We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fare, but opt for take out; service is terrible” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bacchus

Bacchus
7945 Norfolk Ave., Bethesda, MD 20814
301-657-1722
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 296 restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great fare, but opt for take out; service is terrible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have eaten in this restaurant 4-6 times, but only once gotten decent service. What keeps us going back is the food. It's great. So, we have found takeout to be the best option and they usually get the orders right and within a reasonable time. (Perhaps that's the bulk of their business?) The kebobs are outstanding--if you like chicken and fish, go for the Bacchus delight, which gives you both. The kafta is great, too. If you like a non-lettuce focused salad go for the Lebanese salad which is chalked full of tomatoes and onions in a vinegar based dressing served on a bed of lettuce. The sauces, especially the tahini, are wonderful, too. If you do decide to venture to dine in, expect that there will be a long wait between when you are seated and when your food arrives. Usually, there's only one server in the dining room who, in our experience, disappears from view for long periods of time, including bringing and returning the check. We had the same server at least 4 times and even generous tips have done nothing to endear us to him--still not attentive. Eating outside, which includes a beautiful fake waterfall (in season), compounds the service problem because you may only literally see your server when they take your order, bring the food, and then the check.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    22
    17
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“good deal for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Bacchus orders a 2 course lunch for about $11-13, depending on your choice of entree. The first courses available were the usual suspects: hummus, baba ganoush, stuffed grape leaves, felafel. We shared an order of felafel and an order of spinach to start. Both were quite good. We both ordered the fish kebab for our entree. That was disappointing. The swordfish was skimpy (but the price is low, of course) but my main problem was it was highly oversalted for my taste. The mint tea is delicious and worth the extra charge. Service was fine, but it was fairly empty, so I'd expect that. Overall, I would return but not order the fish kebab.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast USA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

After dinner here we put Lebanon on our travel list! Excellent middle eastern food, great ambiance. Also our server was engaging and directed us very well in the ordering process. There is a lovely exoticness about this dining experience. We loved it!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Classic Lebanese treats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Nice round of applause for the outdoor patio, consistently good mezza, and helpful service. None of the mezza (tapas) were second rate. Standouts were the samouk harra (spicy fish), lubia bil zayt (green beans in olive oil) among the seven selections including a very tasty kanafi (shredded wheat and cheese) dessert. Try it. Chicken shwerma was a let down only because it was a breast of chicken thinly sliced instead of the traditional spit roast.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding Lebanese Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We ate in some many excellent restaurants in Bethesda that we wished it wasn't just a visit to the D.C. area! Although many restaurants were recommended by the concierge at the hotel, we did not expect such exceptional food in some places we patronized. However, again, we did. The restaurant was comfortable with Lebanese decor, cloth tablecloths and napkins in the main dining room. We were so happy with our meal and expressed this to our waiter, who told the owner, who came out to tell us a little about the restaurant, and treat us to a lovely dessert. The restaurant and Chef have been in Bethesda for 25 years. The owner expressed what a special cook the Chef was, and he was not exaggerating. We started with Baba Ghannouj; we do have a weakness for eggplant. It was scrumptious with little pieces of eggplant, not totally mashed. We also enjoyed Shankleesh which was seasoned, crumbled goat cheese. It was so tasty, and different from other dishes we enjoyed elsewhere. Our main dishes were Lahn Mechwi (Shish Kebab) that was perfectly grilled and came with buttery rice. We also had Ouzi (chunks of lamb), Lamb is also one of our favorites when enjoyed mideastern food. Ouzi is a stew with tender lamb, and lamb juice infused rice. Both dishes came with Labneh, yogurt dip. Everything was so tasty and presented so well. For dessert we were treated to a lovely dessert which I mistakenly described on my Jaleo review! It was called Bauza, a cream pudding, orange custard with a top layer of zabaglione style lemon with ground pistachios and rosewater. If you look at my other reviews, you will see that we are not always totally pleased. It must be Bethesda! This restaurant is another winner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacchus also viewed

 
Bethesda, MD

Been to Bacchus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bacchus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.