We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An American in Paris” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mon Ami Gabi

Mon Ami Gabi
7239 Woodmont Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-2959
301-654-1234
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mon Ami Gabi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 299 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: French, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wisconsin
Transit: Mon Ami Gabi is a 10 minute walk from the Bethesda Metro Station.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An American in Paris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is not your neighborhood French restaurant. Make no mistake about it, this is a chain restaurant. Therefore, the menu is not at all creative; they are just trying to give you a sampling of an American tourist's favorite French dishes. And the decor is really a canned version of a traditional French brasserie. The tiled floor and the loud jazz soundtrack make it difficult to carry on a conversation or hear your dining companion (this was a Sunday night). Having said that, the food is really very good and the service is excellent. Among the starters, the baked goat cheese and the chicken liver mousse were standouts. For the main course, the beef Wellington, the fish of the day (barramundi) and the duck were all excellent. The only thing that was sub-par were the frites (fries), which was surprising, considering steak frites is one of their specialties. The frites were limp and thin, nothing like the firm, crisp fries one remembers from France or Belgium. But everything else was delicious and I would definitely come back. Next time, I'll try to come on a quiet night.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    153
    36
    17
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Family Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Had a reservation but I was disappointed the hostess sent our party to a table in the back room. When we arrived the restaurant was virtually empty, yet we sat back by the toilet. We weren't able to enjoy the live entertain. The food was good not great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful and romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great service and food. Lovely dining room. Creative menu selections and wine list. The bar area is crowded and exciting and the dining rooms are quiet. Your choice!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“All We Had Hoped For”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We went with a friend who works near this restaurant and thought we'd all enjoy it. Well, she was right! Great wine list by the bottle and also by the glass. One bottle for 2 of us and a glass for the other. All very nice. Service quite nice - attentive, but not pushy. And given it was a Friday night when they could have easily turned the table that was most appreciated. The menu - small, but with a starter we shared of Mussels that were about as good as you can get. The entrees were Sea Scallops, Trout Amandine and Skate Wings all prepared as close to perfect as is possible. Not sure we'll be back in this area, but hopefully we will so we can enjoy this quality place again. To have the seafood prepared as well is it was makes it about as good as it could get!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Ever Neighborhood Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

A lovely evening spent outside under the stars with excellent steak/frites, wine and the best of service! Thank you Mon Ami Gabi!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mon Ami Gabi also viewed

 

Been to Mon Ami Gabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mon Ami Gabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.