We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mon Ami Gabi

Mon Ami Gabi
7239 Woodmont Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-2959
301-654-1234
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mon Ami Gabi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 299 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: French, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wisconsin
Transit: Mon Ami Gabi is a 10 minute walk from the Bethesda Metro Station.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Very good food. Crowded and noisy on a Fri night. Service was only average. A little pricy for what you get.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    152
    36
    17
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“We've been here twice, have no true complaints, but have no plans to return.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hi, We went here about a year ago and the service was confused, and the food was well prepared with quality ingredients but of typical taste which was a surprise given the pricing. Our first review, on the table reservation site, was a 4 star with mention of the incorrect beer and side dishes being served on a busy weekend day. This resulted in a call from the management providing us with $75 in gift certificates which we used last night. The restaurant was doing a light business, typical for a Monday evening, and the service was very good. We ordered the higher priced dishes of rib and steak, and a vegetable side dish. The rib was good but cooked more like a Chinese dish, yes we have eaten the same thing many times in China, and the New York Strip though tender was less tasty than Golden Corral's buffet steak which we sometimes eat on trips to save time. The steak was of good quality but the taste was just mediocre. Perhaps French seasoning isn't our cup of tea but we just think this place is overrated.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very good Steak Frites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We recently dined at Mon Ami Gabi in the Bethesda Row area of Washington DC, with favorable results. The Steak Frites was good, however the fries were served somewhat luke warm. The steak and sauce was quite good. My wife had the Scallops, which were very flavorful. Overall, it was a good experience, but I would not rank it as high as is currently the case.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Greatest Mussels Ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This weekend I ate at Mon Ami Gabi. The warm bread they bring you is super. It comes in a bag, as though you had just purchased warm out of the oven at the bakery!
I had the half order of mussels, and a side of frites. My husband had the salad and the onion soup. The mussels were definitely among the best I,have ever had! They were served in light green wine and herbal sauce. We thought that the onion soup and the French Fries (served in a cone shaped container) gave us a bit of indigestion. Our entrees, Scallops and Vegetables, and Vegetables Frisse were good, but I was disappointed in three bland onions that accompanied my other vegetables. Dessert was Strawberry Briand, with sour cream ice cream. It was delightfully refreshing!!
I went back two days later with a friend, and found the mussels as special as ever!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful country french”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had brunch and then dinner the next night.
My wife enjoyed the best french toast with fresh blue berries while I had great salad and soup.
For dinner steak frites and beauolais village. Felt like I was in Brussels

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mon Ami Gabi also viewed

 

Been to Mon Ami Gabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mon Ami Gabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.