We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and consistently good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mon Ami Gabi

Mon Ami Gabi
7239 Woodmont Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-2959
301-654-1234
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mon Ami Gabi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 301 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: French, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wisconsin
Transit: Mon Ami Gabi is a 10 minute walk from the Bethesda Metro Station.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable and consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Mon Ami Gabi in Bethesda is a hit; it is always packed and very popular. It has great service and consistently good food, and is quite elegant without being too expensive. The menu is classic french bistro but has variety for all tastes. I particularly like the room in the back that can be closed off for private parties or large groups. Even when packed, the restaurant is quiet enough to actually carry on a conversation -- that's rare these days.

On the down side: be careful with the tile floor, even with rubber soled shoes it always feels slippery. Also, to their credit, Mon Ami Gabi does not push bottled waters like so many other restaurants do but the "filtered" water served has a very strange and chemical taste.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    140
    33
    15
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Duck a L'orange!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Two of us went here for lunch recently since we've always heard good things about this restaurant. We loved the warm, whole baguette that is given at the start and we ordered a few other appetizers as well. The French onion soup is delicious - I enjoyed it more than at another well-known country French restaurant in the Washington, D.C. area. The soup had a slight sweetness to it and I will definitely order this again. We also ordered a caesar salad and escargots - both were fine but I've had better at other places. For the entrees we ordered the Duck a'Lorange and Trout Almondine. We enjoyed the trout but the Duck a L'orange is what I'll come back for next time! They give you half a duck which is cooked to perfection. It's accompanied with a delicious sauce that is not overpowering and the duck didn't have too much fat on it like at some other places. The next time I come here I'll definitely get the duck and the French onion soup!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Wide variety of French food. Waiter was extremely knowledgeable about menu and wines. We had a large group and he was on top of everything.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very excellent service. We took our parents here for their anniversary and the restaurant sent out complimentary glasses of champagne for the table. The steak and frites are well executed. Fish dishes, appetizers, salads, and desserts also were all well done. Good quality food and very prompt service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great to go and Relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice to have a place after a ard day to sit relax enjoy wine and then dine
Service outstanding. Always checking your table to make sure you have what you requested. Dies not rush you

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mon Ami Gabi also viewed

 

Been to Mon Ami Gabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mon Ami Gabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.