We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food light fare” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Green Papaya - CLOSED

Green Papaya
4922 Elm St, Bethesda, MD 20814-2923
Improve this listing
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Noodle, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
172 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“good food light fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

This is a very good meal and it is not filling. Service is okay.

Visited September 2011
Thank GeraldWW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
191 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Quiet evening with nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I was visiting from out of town, and happened upon the Green Papaya with a cousin. Vietnamese food done with a nice flair; clean flavors, with a bit of a French accent. Nice service, and quiet dining room, added to the enjoyment at this lovely place in busy Bethesda.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Thank fooddr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Timing may be important”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

A midweek dinner for 4 was just excellent. Frankly, if you don't like spicy Asian food or if you can't appreciate the many versions of spicy, this would be a bad choice. But if you do and can, then you'll love this place. Food aside, it's beautiful inside. Then there's the food. The soups were delicate and properly hot (in temp and seasoning). The shrimp in every dish were wonderful and plump. The Mekong Shrimp alone are worth a visit. Soft shell crabs for one of us were big, perfectly done and tasteeee. Ginger ice cream was a nice way to finish up. I know that others have found Green Papaya erratic and that's not good, except that sometimes, as during our visit, they are totally on.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Thank Handyman301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, MD
Level Contributor
218 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Over-rated! Not worth a second visit.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

This Vietnamese restaurant supposedly had good reviews, and is well located in an area filled with restaurants and movie theaters. We had reservations for a Sunday evening for 8 people. Called the reservation in twice - no live person, just a recording and message machine. They lost it. We ordered appetizers and dinners. Two appetizers came, then 10 minutes later, two more, then the others. The dinners were also slow in coming out - and not all at once either. The worst thing = the food was mediocre at best. I have eaten in family run Vietnamese restaurants, and big fancy ones, and this would be at the bottom. To be fair, it was not bad, but certainly nothing to write home about. The final blow came when the check arrived, and it had two items on it that we had not ordered. The waiter appoogized, and corrected the bill. This restaurant was a great disappointment. It almost seemed that they were short a cook or two in the kitchen, and that the 2nd string was working on a Sunday night. Lastly, the prices were not rediculous considering the neighborhood, but they were too high considering the quality.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Thank Anbrugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good appetizer, okay meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

I was super excited to try Green Papaya because I had never had Vietnamese food before. I love all types of asian foods so I was sure it would be a hit.
While I enjoyed the meal, I was not as impressed as I thought I would be.

We hadn't made reservations and showed up around 6:30 on a saturday. They advised that they only had one table they could put us at, since we had not reserved and they had parties coming in. They sat us at the "only" table available int he half full restaurant (I say this in quotes, because since we were right near the hostess stand we could hear the hostess asking if newcomers had reservations. Several didn't and she sat them immediately at emppty tables).

The table was right by the door (and this was one of the coldest nights so far this winter), so everytime someone walked in we got a gush of cold air (as in, we had to hold the table cloth down so it wouldn't knock our wine glasses over). We didn't complain, but we both had to keep our jackets on.

The service was fine and the waiters friendly. The food was good, but not great. I had a dish called "soft & spicy ginger noodles" which was really nothing more than lo mein. My boyfriend's dish (i forget the name) was quite good. The shrimp paste baguette was also yummy!

On a whole, I would say we had a fine experience. I had just been expecting a little more.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Thank Kyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Papaya also viewed


Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing