We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blacks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black's Bar & Kitchen

Black's Bar & Kitchen
7750 Woodmont Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-6004
301-652-5525
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Black's Bar & Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 288 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Norfolk
Transit: Three blocks from the BETHESDA METRO.
Kensington, MD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Blacks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have always liked this restaurant. The food is consistently top of the mark. The variety, plentiful fish choices,and often unique executions make the evening fun. The wines are well selected and the suggestions have always been fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    62
    35
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong, great food, awesome decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Very surprised the ratings are so low on Trip Advisor. This is one of the best restaurants in Bethesda - love it both for business lunches and for romantic dinners or date night in the bar. Very sophisticated, classy interior and a terrific outside modern dining patio. Food is fantastic.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Seafood in Bethesda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was our second visit and this time our waitress was terrific. Both my college age daughters enjoyed the dinner as much as my wife and I did. Great selection of wines by the glass. As for the food, the ingredients are fresh, perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. I had the seafood stew and it was terrific. We all had a great experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LITTLE ROCK
Level Contributor
207 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great, trendy seafood restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

For those of you who are oyster lovers (I am not) this restaurant has a great selection. However, the other fish dishes are delightful. We returned twice in the same week. The service was great (despite what some of the other reviews say) and the food was impeccable on both visits. The atmospere is kind of trendy and quite noisy, but pleasant. All in all, a place that I definitely would recommend and am sure to return to on my next visit to the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville
Level Contributor
185 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very fine restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Black's Bar is part of a "chain" of consistently fine restaurants. This one is a particular favorite of ours with very good food, a good (though a tad pricey) wine list, and good service. While most everything we've tried on the menu is good, Black's seems to do particularly well with fish, and this visit was no exception. I had a lovely whole fish entree, and an imaginative rockfish appetizer (which also could be had an an entree). Everyone else I was with enjoyed their dishes as well. The restaurant is a bit "lively" and while noise levels never interfered with conversation at our round table for six, it got a bit high at times. Service was variable. Our waitress tended to be slow and not as attentive as we would have liked (we had to call her over a few times to get attention) but when she was at the table she was fine. Overall, a fine restaurant to which we continue to return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black's Bar & Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Black's Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black's Bar & Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.