We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent seafood and service at this well-appointed restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black's Bar & Kitchen

Black's Bar & Kitchen
7750 Woodmont Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-6004
301-652-5525
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Black's Bar & Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 279 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Norfolk
Transit: Three blocks from the BETHESDA METRO.
Washington, D.C.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood and service at this well-appointed restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Recently organized a dinner for my dad's 70th birthday at this Bethesda mainstay that's part of a restaurant group that delivers every time out with good food and great service.

Our waiter - with a large group and a few curveballs along the way - was the most patient, helpful, friendly waiter I've ever maybe had. Really made for a nice night.

The food was fantastic, really nicely prepared pieces of a few different kinds of fish, all coming out of the kitchen perfectly timed, and with nice sides too.

The dessert list was hard to choose from - too many good choices! Had a great creme brulee, some good key lime pie, and a tres leches plate with some homemade dulce de leche ice cream.

Black's also has a good wine list, with something for everyone, and a nice outdoor patio seating area and bar.

Also is right next to a public parking lot that is free on weekend evenings.

Give it a try, you'll like it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    55
    33
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Happy Hour Happiness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I've always loved Black's for a dinner in the dining room, but another great way to enjoy this fine restaurant is in the front room during Happy Hours from 4-7pm. There is a very long, high table with comfortable chairs set on high legs which are perfect for both talking to people at the table as well as guests standing near the table. The menu for the 4-7 time period has many of the Black's favorites, oysters, calamari, shrimp and lots of other great dishes, but at really reduced prices. Same goes for drinks... a fairly good selection of beers, wine and five types of martinis for about $5 or $6 each. On nice weather days, giant glass doors open from the inside and spill out to the outdoor seating area on Woodmont Avenue.

Overall, a great way to start a dinner or just have an early light dinner.
Service and quality always tops.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The restaurant has a good happy hour setting and I would say stop there. They have inside and outside dining which is appealing, and booths in the bar, besides the regular dining tables. For starters, we had the oysters from the west coast, which were fine, and the thai mussels which were average. They offer a 7oz filet, a 12 oz pork chop, and the choice of meats is limited. I had the scallops (31.00) which consisted of 5 scallops a fair share however, they were done in a pasty,flour like light brown gravy like sauce with no taste. The fried chicken which was supposed to be very good (19.00) had a leg and thigh which were fairly dry and not really crispy like you would expect. We frequent the Hillstone restaurants, including Houston's and Woodmont Grill. We will stay with Woodmont Grill which is why I am sure they have a 30 minute wait at 9:30 p.m. and Blacks was empty. The meats at Woodmont are always consistant and excellent portions.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great happy hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I love the martinis and burgers the best but anything I've ever had here was very good. My husband loves the raw oyster specials and the mussels. The decor is very modern and the place is usally pretty lively. Have been here many times, sometimes on a date with my husband or a place to catch up with a girlfriend, but have also come here with small groups of people.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Seafood is amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I have been eating at Black's Bar and Kitchen for several years thought I don't go that often maybe three times a year. The food is always good. The service is good as well. I recommend it - its pricey though!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black's Bar & Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Black's Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black's Bar & Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.