We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy hour all day Sunday!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Bottom Brewery

Rock Bottom Brewery
7900 Norfolk Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-2502
301-652-1311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 296 restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Rock Bottom Bethesda is five miles north of DC, just off Wisconsin Avenue at the corner of Norfolk Ave and St. Elmo Ave. Yes, it's a lot of Avenues, but we're totally worth it. Just wait until you take your first sip of an award-winning, handcrafted ale from Brewmaster Geoffrey S. Lively. Not only does the beer speak for itself, but he started at Mile High Brewing...that's right, the Laverne & Shirley brewery. Possibly the best credential ever.And hey, don't forget to check out our recently refreshed menu of made-from-scratch entrees, appetizers, dinner salads, burgers and sandwiches.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Happy hour all day Sunday!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great beer and very good bar food. TVs everywhere in the bar Perfect for the NCAA tournament. My only comment would be to keep children out of the bar area.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    17
    35
    18
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good pub atmosphere and food pretty good as well.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Went to pub with family and was treated to excellent service. The turn around was pretty quick. The food was cooked well and good value for money. The different beers available also make this somewhat unique in the neighbourhood.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Rockin bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have eaten at this restaurant twice; each time on a Sunday night. Food is very good quality. My only and biggest complaint is the noise level. I can understand the volume being somewhat loud on Friday and Saturday but Sunday I would expect a little softer. The kitchen was able to honor my special request for dinner. I really like this place but don't expect to carry on a conversation with dinner companions and for this reason I probably won't come back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here before and enjoyed it each time. The food is excellent. The club sandwich is hot and first class. The home brewed beers and ales are described in detail and I have enjoyed all of the ones I have tried. Parking in Bethesda on a Friday night is terribly busy and I recommend parking a few blocks away. Service was. About slow but friendly as always. The bar area was pretty loud so if you want a quiet dinner, this is not your spot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elwood, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Delicious food, friendly atmosphere, fast service. My favorite place to eat while visiting Bethesda. Reasonably priced

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rock Bottom Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Bottom Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.