We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Bottom Brewery

Rock Bottom Brewery
7900 Norfolk Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-2502
301-652-1311
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #48 of 292 restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Rock Bottom Bethesda is five miles north of DC, just off Wisconsin Avenue at the corner of Norfolk Ave and St. Elmo Ave. Yes, it's a lot of Avenues, but we're totally worth it. Just wait until you take your first sip of an award-winning, handcrafted ale from Brewmaster Geoffrey S. Lively. Not only does the beer speak for itself, but he started at Mile High Brewing...that's right, the Laverne & Shirley brewery. Possibly the best credential ever.And hey, don't forget to check out our recently refreshed menu of made-from-scratch entrees, appetizers, dinner salads, burgers and sandwiches.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here before and enjoyed it each time. The food is excellent. The club sandwich is hot and first class. The home brewed beers and ales are described in detail and I have enjoyed all of the ones I have tried. Parking in Bethesda on a Friday night is terribly busy and I recommend parking a few blocks away. Service was. About slow but friendly as always. The bar area was pretty loud so if you want a quiet dinner, this is not your spot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    14
    29
    17
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Elwood, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Delicious food, friendly atmosphere, fast service. My favorite place to eat while visiting Bethesda. Reasonably priced

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen, Virginia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“An OK bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Good beer and bar atmosphere, but do not expect gourmet food. The place is rather loud and most tables are heavily traveled. If you like that kind of atmosphere, this place is for you!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Beer, Service and Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My friends and I like to come here when we are all in Maryland at the same time. The beer is really great and their burgers are delicious. Since they revamped their menu and took the lobster mac and cheese off, I have been getting their burgers and I have to say, I don't miss the mac and cheese any longer! We've had great servers each time, except for once. She was the exception. All other servers were attentive and personable. It's a nice laid back place if you are looking to just have fun with some friends, eat tasty burgers and drink good beer.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best microbreweries I have been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I visited Rock Bottom for the beer. They have at least 5 varieties of beer that they brew in house. I didn't have any food so I can't comment on that. The service was outstanding and the beer was delicious and very reasonably priced compared with the rest of the bars nearby.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Bottom Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Rock Bottom Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Bottom Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.