We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Beer, Good Food, Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Bottom Brewery

Rock Bottom Brewery
7900 Norfolk Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-2502
301-652-1311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 301 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Rock Bottom Bethesda is five miles north of DC, just off Wisconsin Avenue at the corner of Norfolk Ave and St. Elmo Ave. Yes, it's a lot of Avenues, but we're totally worth it. Just wait until you take your first sip of an award-winning, handcrafted ale from Brewmaster Geoffrey S. Lively. Not only does the beer speak for itself, but he started at Mile High Brewing...that's right, the Laverne & Shirley brewery. Possibly the best credential ever.And hey, don't forget to check out our recently refreshed menu of made-from-scratch entrees, appetizers, dinner salads, burgers and sandwiches.
Burlingame, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Beer, Good Food, Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

When we travel, we frequently head to the Rock Bottom. Great beers and the food is generally good. Very much fits the picture of the microbrewery, but does a very good job with it. We go to bar trivia on Wednesday nights. Big fun!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    17
    35
    19
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Odenton, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delayed Return Engagement”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Our first stop on a Bethesda bar/grill tour, having been here I a few years ago, and several Rock Bottoms in total.
Pleasant and attentive help behind the bar … even had cordial interaction with the manager on duty. Not real busy, but friendly dialogue with other customers (locals). We had several of the beers, of which the worst one was “good.”
Extremely disappointed that the signature item “Titan’s Toothpicks” were no longer on the menu, we had the “Sampler” and enjoyed it very, very much! (Looking to make a tour of Bethesda, we were not looking for the “big meal deal.”)
This is a place that just feels “right.” Wish it were closer to where we live, but have not been disappointed in three states!
(Should you venture to Bethesda, certainly stop here. Enter Black Finn expecting nothing and hoping for “good,” and if you are using the Metro, get some good times across the street at The Box!)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beer beer beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This place serves a great selection of beer. The food is reasonable, standard fare but the choice of different beers makes this a fun place to drop in on. The bar area to the left is more bustling than the quieter large seated area to the left so there is a nice choice of options depending on your mood. The food is good value with larger than average portions. Wednesday night quiz night get's very busy but a friendly place to visit and makes sure you try one of the guest ales.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The homemade beers were the best thing after a hot day. The food was good appitizers wrre awesome! Pretty decent prices. Happy hour had great deals

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethesda, md
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A fun beer place in Bethesda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Good specials, tasty beers and food, pleasant servers. This is an easy choice when you are looking for a good beer and bar food. The only down side is that it can get really loud, so not a good place for a quiet conversation.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Bottom Brewery also viewed

 
Bethesda, MD
Bethesda, MD
 

Been to Rock Bottom Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Bottom Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.