We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Bottom Brewery

Rock Bottom Brewery
7900 Norfolk Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-2502
301-652-1311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 309 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Rock Bottom Bethesda is five miles north of DC, just off Wisconsin Avenue at the corner of Norfolk Ave and St. Elmo Ave. Yes, it's a lot of Avenues, but we're totally worth it. Just wait until you take your first sip of an award-winning, handcrafted ale from Brewmaster Geoffrey S. Lively. Not only does the beer speak for itself, but he started at Mile High Brewing...that's right, the Laverne & Shirley brewery. Possibly the best credential ever.And hey, don't forget to check out our recently refreshed menu of made-from-scratch entrees, appetizers, dinner salads, burgers and sandwiches.
Youngstown, Ohio, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The homemade beers were the best thing after a hot day. The food was good appitizers wrre awesome! Pretty decent prices. Happy hour had great deals

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    42
    21
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bethesda, md
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“A fun beer place in Bethesda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Good specials, tasty beers and food, pleasant servers. This is an easy choice when you are looking for a good beer and bar food. The only down side is that it can get really loud, so not a good place for a quiet conversation.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, FL
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Flights are fun, and there's savory food, too.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We liked the choices and the flights of interesting beers. It's all a little fatty, as you'd expect, and I hope that gets fixed in time.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petal, ms
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food & great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I ate dinner here on a Wednesday evening and enjoyed the experience. I had the Texas Fire steak with Mac n cheese and broccoli with a house salad. The portions are big and the steak was cooked to my preference (medium well) to perfection. The Mac n cheese was wonderful. Our waiter was Jonathan and he was friendly and efficient. Hubby had the southwestern shrimp and chicken and said it was spicy, but good. Will go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good if you like hoppy beer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

The dinner menu is a bit limited and like all beer joints the food is loaded with salt. The service is quite good.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Bottom Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Rock Bottom Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Bottom Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.