We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun beer place in Bethesda” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Bottom Brewery

Rock Bottom Brewery
7900 Norfolk Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-2502
301-652-1311
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #47 of 292 restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Rock Bottom Bethesda is five miles north of DC, just off Wisconsin Avenue at the corner of Norfolk Ave and St. Elmo Ave. Yes, it's a lot of Avenues, but we're totally worth it. Just wait until you take your first sip of an award-winning, handcrafted ale from Brewmaster Geoffrey S. Lively. Not only does the beer speak for itself, but he started at Mile High Brewing...that's right, the Laverne & Shirley brewery. Possibly the best credential ever.And hey, don't forget to check out our recently refreshed menu of made-from-scratch entrees, appetizers, dinner salads, burgers and sandwiches.
bethesda, md
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A fun beer place in Bethesda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Good specials, tasty beers and food, pleasant servers. This is an easy choice when you are looking for a good beer and bar food. The only down side is that it can get really loud, so not a good place for a quiet conversation.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    14
    29
    17
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Worth, FL
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Flights are fun, and there's savory food, too.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We liked the choices and the flights of interesting beers. It's all a little fatty, as you'd expect, and I hope that gets fixed in time.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petal, ms
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food & great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I ate dinner here on a Wednesday evening and enjoyed the experience. I had the Texas Fire steak with Mac n cheese and broccoli with a house salad. The portions are big and the steak was cooked to my preference (medium well) to perfection. The Mac n cheese was wonderful. Our waiter was Jonathan and he was friendly and efficient. Hubby had the southwestern shrimp and chicken and said it was spicy, but good. Will go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good if you like hoppy beer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

The dinner menu is a bit limited and like all beer joints the food is loaded with salt. The service is quite good.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Your typical Micro-Brewery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Good food & beer. Great selection and good happy hour specials

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Bottom Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Rock Bottom Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Bottom Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.