We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent group dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grapeseed

Grapeseed
4865 Cordell Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814
(301) 986-9592
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Grapeseed is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #59 of 299 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: between Norfolk and Woodmont
Transit: Grapeseed is located 1/2 mile from the Bethesda Metro stop on the Red Line.
Description: Grapeseed American Bistro is a casual bistro that matches great food and wine together. With anywhere from 80 to 100 wines by the glass and approximately 325 bottle listed, we cater to the novice wine lover and to the experienced. We start with a bottle of wine and pick out the characteristics and nuances of the wine and then award winning Chef Jeffrey Heineman creates a menu item to highlight the flavors of the wine. So come in and relax, have a taste or a glass of wine and try something on our ever-changing menu.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Recent group dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My work group recently had a fantastic dinner at Grapeseed. There were close to 20 people in our group and all enjoyed dinner. We were offered the private dinning room which is separated to the rest of the by glass walls and sliding doors. The food was fantastic and all in our group enjoyed it. The wine list is very pricey, but if you look carefully, you can find some gems. I highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    37
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, MD
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fun and delicious time in Bethesda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have eaten at Grapeseed many times over the years and keep returning. This time, however, was different. As they were taking us to our table, the very worst table in the whole restaurant, I spoke up and asked for something different. They seated us at the chef's table. What a blast!!! We were able to watch all the food being prepared and we were highly entertained. The talent in the kitchen is amazing and our food was delicious. My husband loved the calamari appetizer and the redfish was delicious. I will always recommend Grapeseed as it is a dependable choice in Bethesda and the chef's table is quite a treat. A little warm up there, but well worth it!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Grapeseed of Bethesda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Went there on a Saturday night with a work friend. For this 7:30 PM reservation, made on-line, we got a corner table. (You can make reservations by phone as well).

Excellent ambience! Though the bistro was full, it was QUIET! We were able to talk, strategize, and get some work done AND enjoy the meal. The wait staff was unobtrusive, but always seemed to be there when we looked up for something.

They have a large wine list and also have printed suggestions for wine pairings with every cooked dish. That was useful. And the one they had selected for our entrees was very well paired. It was not a case of pushing the most expensive libation on the customer. That was also appreciated.

Turning to the food, it was on the expensive side but prepared very well. Some standouts: the mushrooms fricassee , pecorino potatoes and something quite yummy with cauliflower. The desserts were very good but not exceptional.

Parking on a Saturday night at peak time was oddly enough very smooth. One block away is a Public Parking garage and it was free - the city of Bethesda makes this possible, I understand. You can also go for a valet parking if you wish.

I would go back; I would suggest to my dining companions they spend a moment on the bistro's website at http://www.grapeseedbistro.com/.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catonsville
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good, but inconsistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a group business dinner at Grapeseed. The menu is interesting, and it is nice to have wine pairings on the menu. The common theme for our meal was very good, but it lacked consistency - missing that one thing that takes very good to excellent. The mussels and calamari were great, along with the spicy broccoli. The gnocchi was too bland and the Korean beef tips chewy and the veggies were cooked to the point of mushy. Our main courses were also on the whole very good, with a couple of inconsistencies. One of our diners had the wrong main course. Meanwhile, the scallops were tremendous as well as the salmon. The chicken perfectly cooked. The side dishes were good, with the exception of the almond puree, which was ridiculously good. Again the desserts were good, but not over the top. A very good meal, which with a few adjustments, could have been a great one.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Half price Tuesdays!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

11 of us ate here and had a thoroughly good time. The highlight was half price wine, which meant we could drink twice as much! We started off with a few starters to share. The calamari was fantastic and accompanied by warm bread with olive oil and tomato: yummy. I had the scallops for the main, which were delicious.

It was a busy night, however the service was great. We had a young version of Matt LeBlanc serving us and did a super job.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grapeseed also viewed

 

Been to Grapeseed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grapeseed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.